More DC time!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington
July 9th 2008
Published: July 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Today I went back to the City this time I took the Metro from Braddock Station which is luckily 5 minutes walk from Carrie's house, I was totally freaked out by this strange guy who first bumped into me when there was tons of room and smiled at me i smiled back just to be polite but then he kept looking at me and smiling so when the train came i thought i wouldn't go to the doors closest to the guy but go to the next one up and you wouldn't believe it he followed he sat about three seats in front of me but ones that were facing me I kept seeing him looking at me when i got to my stop i didn't want him to follow me so I left it to the last minute to get off the train and quickly ran out lol!!! Ok your going to think I'm crazy but I went to first person at the Holocaust Museum again today I am really interested in both wars and after writing a play on the first world war i am thinking about writing one on the second so you know it was good research to hear first hand accounts! There was a couple today who spoke Sam and Regina they were both Jewish and from Poland they actually met in a slave labour camp were seperated then reunited after the war and they are the cutest couple ever they were so funny together correcting one another and making jokes to lighten the mood they were like a comedy duo even though both of their families were slaughtered by the Nazi's, Regina had a sister who was going to be sent to the killing ground on the cattle train with her baby boy and instead she tried to make a run for it and both were shot dead it was so sad hearing about it, I spoke to them both after and honestly i could have listened to them for hours, Regina was jabbering away to everyone (she loves to talk) and she was so cute she told me I was beautiful and kissed and hugged me when I was leaving after talking to them! Some people say the Holocaust never happened and of course this angers the couple as they went through so much because of it so they do these talks to make people remember and not to forgot so that genocide doesn't happen in the future Sam even showed me the number he was tattooed with, this was used instead of his name he said this is proof that it happened. Ok so enough history for now that probably was totally boring for you but i felt i needed to talk about them as i was so passionate about the talks they were so emotional yet uplifting as they survived so much and are brave enough to talk about it!
Ok so after the talk I thought as I'd been all Historical i should be Cultural too so I went and looked round the African Art Museum and the Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery I really enjoyed the African Art Museum but I got bored of Art Museums after that so my visit to the Freer and Sackler Gallery were brief to say the least as it was another hot day I gave up and went home. This Evening I chilled out it was nice to just stay in and do nothing as I hadn't done it for a while!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



15th July 2008

War
I love to hear stories of the war too, so would have been just as enthralled as you were. You just can't imagine the things people like that have been through. Its a sweet story that they found each other again :)
16th July 2008

Sam and Regina
The Holocaust seems a world away from what we have now, but it really wasn't all that long ago, it's so sad to think about. You must have made a good impression on Sam and Regina anyway, they liked you! And how very refined to be visting all the museums and art galleries, ooh la la! -x-

Tot: 0.041s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb