Pangborn Airport Wenatchee, WA


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington
April 17th 2018
Published: April 18th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Art drove me down to Omak to catch a 6am bus to Wenatchee. I spent the day with one of my high school buddies, Mary Joy, who drove me to the airport. I love this place. They took my suitcase and said it would go all the way to Naples. Amazing!

History of Pangborn Memorial Airport has been in operation since 1941. It is named for Clyde Pangborn, who along with co-pilot Hugh Herndon, completed the first nonstop flight across the Pacific Ocean in 1931. Their epic journey began in Misawa Japan, and ended 41 hours later in East Wenatchee, Washington. Northwest Airlines began the first commercial air service to and from Pangborn Airport in 1945. In order to cut down on weight they dropped their wheels just after takeoff, literally dropped them off the plane. Here in Wenatchee, they had to do a belly flop, which they did.

Advertisement



18th April 2018

Post
I received an email that you had posted, so we are in business. Buon viaggio

Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb