Traffic , traffic and more traffic


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
June 15th 2013
Published: June 25th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 47.6353, -122.302

An interesting day it was. Our plan today was to go sightseeing on Puget Sound in the morning then visit Pike Market in the afternoon. We left the hotel at 9 AM, 64 degrees, and headed north on I-5. The first thing I saw when we hit the road was a long chain of mountains to the east, with those now familiar trails of snow bleeding down the sides. Since the sky was blue today and the sun was shining brightly, we could see them clearly in their majestic splendor. I can't explain why, but there is something about mountains that makes my heart skip a beat. Someday, perhaps, I will get to lay my eyes on the big one…Everest. That would be sweet. Soon I spotted a mountain, far off in the distance, behind the other mountains, but taller and totally covered with snow from its crown to as far down its sides as I could see. What is that mountain? I tried to find the name of it on my Iphone, but failed. I could not keep my eyes off of it. The strong rays of the sun caused the snow to shine like a bright light in the distance, ruling royally over the other mountains in its shadow. I later learned from a local that it is Mt. Baker. And my research tells me that it is always white because it is "glaciated". Perhaps we will see it again tomorrow.

As I took in the view with awe, it didn't take long before we got into stop-and-go traffic for the third day in a row. What didn't occur to either one of us is that the Skagit Bridge was on our route. (That is the bridge that got wiped out by a truck a while back, tossing a few cars into the river.) They are working on a temporary span but it isn't open yet. So we got hung up in traffic because the detour took us into Mt. Vernon, through traffic lights and streets not designed to handle this volume of traffic, over that town's bridge, then back onto I-5. It took an hour to complete that detour. So we were already running behind.

Steve chose the scenic route to Oak Harbor. And eventually we exited the highway and headed west. The road took us through golden fields of grain, strawberry fields, and past lumber yards teaming with fresh cut trees and milled lumber. I love that smell. We crossed water several times and I saw a rusty old railroad trestle swung open to let the boats pass through. We saw a train laboriously pulling a very long chain of shiny black tanker cars and I wondered of they had come from a harbor and had received their load from a tanker ship. My question was soon answered, as we passed the Tesoro Oil Refinery. Perhaps the oil was on its way to market.

We finally reached Oak Harbor and discovered to our dismay that it is nearly impossible to get to the water and take in the view, since the waterfront property seems to be populated by private homes. And what a view some of them had. We snuck into a neighborhood and found a vacant lot and I was able to snap a few photos looking across the bay to the Cascade Mountains and directly at Mt. Baker. What would it cost to live there? The vacant lot was selling for $139K.

Well, the plan called for driving back to Seattle through Oak Harbor and south on this “scenic” road. After five hours, we found ourselves at the END OF THE ROAD with nothing but water between us and Seattle. And the way to drive back? Yes, 5 hours back on the same route that brought us to this point. Luckily…there was a ferry and after waiting for about half an hour, we were on our way across the bay. Beamer was not at all sure he was happy with this part of the trip, but he returned to his cheery self once we were on solid ground.

Sadly, we ran out of time and were not able to visit the market. Michelle and Rudy will likely beat on us for missing what they recommended as a must see in Seattle. Perhaps next time.

We landed back at the hotel around 4:30 and we spent our cocktail hour firming up plans for the next 4 days. Tomorrow, Vancouver. Washington...check.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



16th June 2013

Really enjoying the dialogue and photos. Look forward to tomorrow's.
16th June 2013

Thanks. Writing this blog keeps me paying attention. I have found that enjoying a road trip is all about keeping your eyes outside the window and taking it all in.
17th June 2013

When I was there in Seattle, almost exactly 3 years ago, to run the half marathon for Team in Training, I loved seeing a bit of the city (on foot) and the Pike Street Market. If you ever get a chance, go back. I'd love to hike in the Casc
ades before I get too old.
18th June 2013

Enjoy reading about your trip. Seems like a lot of work on your part, but it will be a great keepsake. My annual trips to Seattle and the Pike Place Market are over as Chris has moved to the Cambridge MA area. I remember marveling at Mt. Ra
iner, but I don't remember Mt. Baker. Safe travels!
18th June 2013

Thanks. WIsh we had seen the pike Market. Perhaps next time.
18th June 2013

It is a haven waiting for you. You need to go and hike there.

Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb