A City Overcaffeinated


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
October 11th 2006
Published: October 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Giutar ManGiutar ManGiutar Man

This is Jonathan, he's from Israel and loves the rock band Alice in Chains.
My third cup of Lipton's tea. It's hot and it burns my mouth. "So, you're a cool girl?" He asks, with the strangest of accents because until he tells you, you have no idea where he's from.
I lift my eyebrow in response and stir the spoon around in the little cup.
"You are cool, you say you are a cool girl?" He asks again and I have no idea what he's talking about and I tell him that.

'I want to bring you someplace, show you something. Follow me," He says with a smile, and turns around.

We walk up the stairs to the second floor of the hostel, turn the corner, and now we are going through a door with a sign that clearly reads "No tresspassing." He may be from Israel, but we both know what a sign like that means, so I just smile.

The air is chilly outside, but I know that it is probably nothing like the cold that is just beginning to creep into the city in Maine, where another me could be in a parallel universe, where I chose to stay in school this semester.

But no, I am
MISSING SUNSETMISSING SUNSETMISSING SUNSET

Here's the view from the roof, pretty cool. The mountains turn this one shade of gray and it seems like you can gaze into them forever, their depth is unmeasurable. We planned on sleeping up here to watch the stars, but, like a lot of things...that never happened!
here, and we are climbing a ladder and we are barefoot and both crazy, in shorts, I can see the hairs on his legs stand up, reaching, stretching away...from what?
We get to the top and the sunset is just finishing, bowing after it's ridiculous performannce,and in my mind it is ridiculous, that something can be so beautiful that no one can deny it.

We are on the roof of the hostel, not the tallest of buildings, but taller than the downstairs living room windows, and I say, not looking away from the mountains, "Thankyou for bringing me here."


Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0272s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023kb