Vashon Island


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
September 29th 2006
Published: September 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Ferry Ride to Vashon

It only takes 15 minutes and $4!

BANANA SLUGBANANA SLUGBANANA SLUG

This poor little guy was in the road, circling a pile of squashed yellow: presumably his girlfriend was hit by a car and he was trying to bring her back to life. :(
Hello Hello!
Only two days into this and I am having quite the adventure. Every hostel in Seattle is booked up untill Sunday, so I had to take a ferry ride to one of the nearby islands...Vashon Island, and what a beauty it is! Some of the tallest pine trees I have ever seen, blackberries growing wild everywhere along the road. There is such a peaceful quiet here. Mt. Rainier stands proud miles away, but still looks like a giant from Puget Sound. I camped out last night in the island hostel's yard because it is a lot cheaper, and hung out with my French actor friend Erwann, an Australian named Stuart, and Yulan from Taiwan.
The pool table was chipped, scratched and very used, but we played almost all night, while Erwann sang to me in French about an older man and young girl who are in love but know it will never work because of their age difference, even though they are soul mates.
When Stuart and I were talking, I mentioned the death of the Crocodile Hunter, Steve Erwin, and how he seemed like such a nice man. "But," sad Stuart, that's how we all are in Australia."
My TentMy TentMy Tent

Here's where I camped out!
Next stop: the Outback.
I'm not the only one missing their significant other. Yulan hasn't seen his girl in three months and she is trying to catch a flight to Vancouver to meet him. I miss you, Seth!
Erwann tought me how to juggle, he went to school for theatre, he is a skilled entertainer. In the morning I saw everyone but Yulan off with a banana pancake breakfast.
This morning Yulon and I rode the hostel bikes a few hilly miles to the library here on Vashon, where I am typing this now, where everyone is smiles since it has not rained for two days in Seattle, and the sun is still shining.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

StuartStuart
Stuart

Silly Australian
Sweet PeaSweet Pea
Sweet Pea

One of my favorite flowers grows wild like a weed!
Hostel CabinHostel Cabin
Hostel Cabin

Here's the Vashon Hostel for ya.
Covered WagonCovered Wagon
Covered Wagon

Hostel decoration...
WavesWaves
Waves

Erwan and I rode the ferry to Vashon.
FlowersFlowers
Flowers

More rode-side sweet pea.
KitchenKitchen
Kitchen

One of 3 community kitchens.
ErwanErwan
Erwan

Here's the French dude.


3rd November 2006

I'm in cogneto..you know who I am...Blah,Blah,Blah..... Missing you in VT.
23rd November 2006

oh randomness
Yeah, VT is def missin you lady! HOLLAAAAA that french dude is pretty hot haha and so is that australian. Nickola ROCK ON WOMAN

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb