Mountains in the Skies


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
September 28th 2006
Published: September 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I ducked my head as I entered the plane, and laughed just a little. It was the smallest aircraft I had ever been on. Walking through the connector hallway, I expected to find nothing but the usual: a seeming thousand people scrambling through the isle traying to fit their lives into the overhead compartments, screaming at their kids and hitting their heads. This was nothing of the sort. As I walked on, with only one seat on either side of me, I realized that I was assigned cushion 1A. I turned around to find out that I was practically the co-pilot. I was close enough to the door that I could have been, face to face with the flight attendent, who was soon to become my friend.
As I was taking pictures of the world above the clouds, she squatted next to me. "If you give me your email, I can send you a picture I took. It's Mickey Mouse, as a cloud. The perfect profile, the nose, the ears, everything."
We started to chit chat about photography, the life of a flight attendent, Mexico, Toronto, and the captain, who then called out, "Our attendent better sit her toosh on the cush right now and respect the seatbelt sign." He proceeded to let us know that he would accept appologies on the way out from everyone whom he heard say that his 125 (or 145?) was small.
That flight was only an hour.
In the next plane I had more company, an old chinese couple. We didn't have anything to say to each other, but we did have quite a bit to show. We spent half of the 5 hour flight holding eachothers digital cameras, oohing and aahing. They thought I was 16. The little old man used his road atlas and a magnifying glass to follow our route as he looked out the window in search of the windy rivers and roads. They were the cutest people, always laughing. We almost hugged when the flight was over. Almost.
I'm meeting nice people in Seattle. I've been helped out whenever I've asked. It's a very artsy city. The hostel is fun, last night I roomed with an older woman named Margot from Austria, and two girls from Korea. Even if no one speaks the same language here, they all speak the same laugh.
Today I plan on visiting the University of Washington, and tonight I will be staying at a hostel on Vashion Island, possibly camping out. Hope to post pictures soon.






Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Hostelling International Hostel SeattleHostelling International Hostel Seattle
Hostelling International Hostel Seattle

This is the dorm I stayed in!
SEATTLE!!SEATTLE!!
SEATTLE!!

Downtown


5th October 2006

Travel Girl
Hello Nickola Your Journals are great. I love reading them. Aunt Rosemary said that your writing is so interesting and good. I agree. We went to A Therese and Uncle Max's 7- B day party last nite. You mom Emille and I arrive late. I brought Cindy to chat with Emilee they where so happy to see each other agian. The family is doing well. Monica is popping out and ue any day now. Don, Dan Nina and myself are off to Maine to travel with Bobby and Joe to Moose Head lake. We better see a Moose Dam it! Your travels are going well. I am so happy for you and I hope the weather stays nice for you. Get some good pictures and become famous :o) Christopher is awaiting your phone call. I let him know that you where in Vancouver on Monday so he is waiting. I hope your visit with him goes well and you better go to the top of the Space Needle. How much was it to go to the top? A once in a life time journey for you and keep exploring all you can. I can't believe that you had to toss you cider and plums BOO HOO. I'll must go back to work now. Oh one more thing I am letting everyone know that they need to call you on the weekends because its FREE. Mom told me to inform everyone. Your mom needs a computer. Love you and travel well my Travel GIRL. U. Don is currently in Panama City Fla. He is my Travel Boy. Take Care Aunt Jackie

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0502s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb