My first no hitter... is in Seattle?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
August 12th 2015
Published: August 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I have been to nearly 450 Giants games. I think Dyl and I had a no no go into the seventh once. On August 12th, 2015 I visited Safeco Field for probably the only time in my life and Hisashi Iwakuma throws only the 5th no hitter in Mariners history. (By the way, the Giants have had five going back to Jonathan's Sanchez's like 6 years ago. It's a golden age, people!) But congrats to Iwakuma and hey, I guess it was nice to get on the board with one. The sad thing is I hardly noticed it was happening and I almost left. As I have said it is not my team and I went mostly to experience another ballpark. Safeco was the last on my list of West Coast MLB venues. I had a cool seat and was drinking some good beer, but I wanted to visit more of Seattle. I was doing a lap around the stadium and about to head out when Iwakuma made it out of the seventh. I asked myself has Baltimore gotten a hit yet? I would have felt stupid for leaving. My seat and the celebration attached.



Also, my day started off really well. I have made a commitment to log a run in every city I visit. Yesterday, I did two miles along the shores of Lake Washington with another two miles walking. It was already getting warm so I made a mental note to pack on the sunblock prior to leaving for the game. After I showered and got ready for Safeco, I noticed it was raining. Well, it is Seattle I guess. As I walked the two miles to the ballpark I was witness to a thunderstorm complete with bursts of lighting. It was pretty cool and I only got a little wet. So, I probably logged in about 10 miles of walking/running, logged in a double digit beer total, so... I was home and asleep early and missed any other city sights. That's okay, Thursday is tourist day. Pike's Place, Space Needle, etc. Everyone who knows me knows how open and accepting I am of the people who come from all over the world to San Francisco. Hopefully, Seattle will repay the favor. ;-)


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1049s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb