Mt. St. Helen's and Seattle- June 30th


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
July 1st 2009
Published: July 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

The side of the volcano acutally blew off, not the top
Made it into Seattle earlier this evening. Stopped by Mt. St. Helen's on the way. Stopped at the first Visitor's Center a few miles off I-5 and watched a movie about what happened in May of 1980 and checked out the displays which included newspaper articles documenting what was going on. Headed up the road a little ways to another visitor's center and observation deck. Watched another film, and when it was over, they lifted the backdrop and Mt. St. Helen's was right out the window. Read the displays that detailed accounts of people who struggled to survive while they were in the area of the erruption. Also saw a ranger presentation on the observation deck which was really good. Drove on up I-5 to Seattle after I was done at Mt. St. Helen's. Had to trudge my way through some traffic on the way, but it wasn't as bad as I was expecting. Walked a few blocks to the Belltown area and had some really good pizza. Been planning what I'm going to do for the next couple of days since I got back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Photo 2Photo 2
Photo 2

During the eruption, the lake got pushed up the mountatin and set back down about 500 feet higher up than it used to be because of all the trees and mud that got deposited.
Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

Can't see the ash all that well in the picture, but as I was driving to the volcano I felt like Lando Caleresian in the Return of the Jedi as he is driving the Millenium Falcon to the Death Star and says, "that things opperational."


1st July 2009

All I can say about photo #4 - NERD!! just kidding :)
1st July 2009

Yeah, Mount St. Helen is like the challenger blowing up and Kennedy's death--remember where I was and all the news, etc. Sounds fascinating. Have a great time in Seattle and Washington. See you soon!
2nd July 2009

Volcano
Matt, Hey! I so remember when this happened, Phil Glaza's brother Bob lived very close ( Justin and Ryan's uncle) and I remember watching it on TV and seeing pictures from Bob as is car was pure ash. I am noy sure how far away he lived. Glad all is well Matt we miss ya and Love ya Love is... Bizz and all
2nd July 2009

Amanda and Matt
You both sound just like brother little sister. Matt you are not a nerd! Glad you are having a great time and I have got to watch all of the Star Wars movies before I die BUT you would have to explain them to me . You would problably perfer I passed on very quickly Sorry ! NOT going to happen Explain them to Conor and he can explain them to me then. Thats probably how long it would take me to figure them out. Love is... Bozz

Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1099s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb