Sunshine in Seattle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
May 21st 2009
Published: May 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

But I hadn't quiet left South America... there were still a few more suprises left for me on my flights out. Ham and Cheese Tortilla. Ham and Cheese Bagel. Oh and being detained for Swine Flu. Nice.

Arriving into Seattle I could hardly believe it. It was sunny! The city shone as we flew over head, the waters sparkling as we descended. I found Erika outside the airport, and after 6 years it was still the same. We headed for Queen Anne for brunch. Eggs Benedict I missed you! Driving through the city was great, with important plces being pointed out to me it was almost like having my own personal tour guide. That and it kinda felt almost like being in Grey's Anatomy... but without McDreamy 😞

Erika's parents live on the shores of Lake Sammamish and on a sunny day, it was gorgeous. I lazed about on the dock enjoying the sunshine and throwing sticks for Marley, which he promptly pushed over the edge and into the water. It was good to have a dog again, if only for a few days.

We headed up to Snoqualmie falls, which thundered over the rocks producing the most beautiful rainbow I have ever seen. We then had to detour to the supermarket which was an adventure in itself. Rows upon rows of shiny things calling out for me to buy them! Eep!

I spent several days exploring the city: the hustle and bustle of the Pike Place Market, the stunning views from the Smith Tower, the history of all things musical at the Experience Music Project and all things geeky (I thought of you, Paul) at the Science Fiction Museum. I spent hours trawling through market stalls and shops, wandering galleries and the fantastic Seattle Art Museum and walked along the waterfront at the Olympic Sculpture Park, dodging the very few raindrops that fell from above. I walked the Burke-Gilman trail alongside the canals in Fremont, found the troll beneath the bridge along with many other artisitc installations across this very cool part of the city, and almost out-chocolated myself (it's a challenge, trust me) at the Theo Chocolate Factory. I visited the first ever Starbucks store and got lost in bookstores new and old. When it's sunny, Seattle is a beautiful city!

In the evenings I wined and dined with the family & friends beside the lake and watched Marley chase imaginary sticks around the house. Then I tucked up, in a queen sized bed, with big fluffy pillows and slept.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.157s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0894s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb