Relaxing in Seattle Washington


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
March 29th 2009
Published: March 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

Me at the top of the Space Needle in Seattle
“Lessons always arrive when you are ready for them, and if you can read the signs, you will learn everything you need to know in order to take the next step.” The Zahir Paulo Coelho

The drive from Point Reyes (just outside San Francisco) to Seattle was long. I took highway #1 while in California and I must say that although the scenery was beautiful, by the end I had enough of the winding roads. I was craving a straight simple road. Once I entered Oregon and took highway #5, I got my wish. I stopped twice on route to Seattle. I stopped in Eugene California and Salem Oregon. They were simple hotel stops; I did not do any sight seeing.

I arrived in Seattle about 3pm on March 27th, got settled in the hostel and then headed down to Pike Place Market. I enjoyed the market for about an hour before heading over to the venue where the Blue October concert was being held. The man at the door had recommended I go to the restaurant attached to the bar so that I will be able to enter the concert before the public outside lining up. It was
Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

Heather and me enjoying a "Washington Apple" shot before the Blue October concert.
excellent advice!

When inside the bar I ordered a drink and a burger for dinner. The place was filling up quickly. I was sitting at a table by myself so when I saw a couple looking around for a table I invited them to join me. Heather and Manuch are live here in Seattle and were here for the concert as well. Heather is a huge Blue October fan and this was the 5th time she would be seeing them. We sat and enjoyed drinks and chatting together until it was time to go into the concert. They treated me to a shot of a “Washington Apple.” The glass was huge and it was to be “downed” in one sitting like a normal shot. I was happy to know not all shots were this big, just this particular one.

At 8pm, they let us into the bar. We were the last to get in from the restaurant (we relaxed in our chairs rather than waiting in line) but we still managed to get up to the front (only 1-2 people in front of us and the stage.) Now we just stand and wait. We talked with others around
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Justin of Blue October
us and met other Blue October fans. It was nice to talk about Blue October as most of my friends or acquaintances do not really know who they are. It was such a treat to see them in such a small venue. They will soon hit it big and then we won’t be able to be so “up-close and personal” with them.

At 9pm, the opening band came on. Their name was “Ours” and they were fine. I woman we were talking to had seen them the night before in Portland and said they were not that good, but I liked them (I wouldn’t rush out and buy an album though as it is a little too “hard” for my regular taste. At about 10:20pm, Blue October hit the stage.

The concert was so awesome. They played for almost 2 hour and they played their whole new album plus a lot of hits from the “Foiled” album. The new album was just released 2 days before so I hadn’t heard it yet. I really liked it. Actually, I liked the fact that I didn’t know the songs as I was paying more attention to the words, the meanings
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

Justin of Blue October
and the emotion Justin was putting into them.

When they were singing the song “Into the Ocean”(while I was recording it) they threw their guitar pick out at the audience and it hit my arm and dropped to the floor in front of me. I quickly put my foot on it, picked it up and put it in my pocket. After about 5 minutes, I realized that as much as I would cherish the guitar pick, I knew that Heather would cherish it more so I gave it to her.

With regards to their songs, I really liked the new one “Jump Rope” plus quite a few of the others. I loved how Justin introduced this song. He said he often gets the question “When are you going to write something positive?” which he then stated his usual reply is “Fuck You”. But now he has a daughter so he wrote the song “Jump Rope”. I think there are quite a few other songs on the new album which are positive and I am sure that is because he is now more positive and happy with a family. Funny thing is that it kind of mirrors my life
Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

Justin of Blue October singing "Into the Ocean"
too.

At the time when I first started enjoying Blue October (about a couple years ago) I was in a “down” state so I could relate so much to the music. As much as it has some depressing lyrics, I always liked the contrast of the music which always sounded positive which to me reflected a little “hope”. Now in my life I am quite happy, hopeful and full of joy so it is nice to see some of their songs reflect that as well.

At the end of the concert, I drove Heather and Manuch home and headed back to the hostel. I was still wired from the concert so I stayed up with a bunch of 20 year olds, watched a movie and watched them get drunk. I went to sleep around 3:30am.

The next day I woke up late and really didn’t feel like doing much. It was a cold and rainy day so I just wandered down the streets here for a few hours. I stopped in a coffee shop for an hour or so and had a Chai Latte which my step-mommy got me hooked on. In the evening, I sat around
Photo 6Photo 6Photo 6

Justin of Blue October singing "Into the Ocean" holding out his microphone for us to sing along.
and chatted with some of the other travellers, watched a movie and called it an early night (at around 1am).

My last full day in Seattle was beautiful. I started the day with a visit to a local spa for a massage. I have never been to a spa before so it was quite a treat. After the massage, they threw in a complimentary style and blow dry … that was way too cool. It was awesome when I didn’t have to leave with a “massage bed” hairstyle.

The sun was out today so it is a perfect day to take in the Space Needle and the Olympic Sculpture Park. I especially loved this one sculpture called Love and Loss.

It is now early evening and I am enjoying typing this blog on the deck just outside my bedroom where I have a perfect view of the Olympic Mountains and the sunset … a beautiful way to end my time in the USA.

My next stop is Vancouver in British Columbia. I have about 10 days to explore BC and visit some friends before I settle in Calgary for my teaching ESL course. I can’t
Photo 7Photo 7Photo 7

Justin of Blue October singing "Hate Me"
wait to see coloured money again!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Photo 8Photo 8
Photo 8

Justin of Blue October singing "Hate Me"
Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

Inside the spa I visited on my last day in Seattle (and USA)
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

I liked this message
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

Space Needle - Seattle
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

View of Seattle from Space Needle
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

Me in the sculpture park, in the middle of the "Love and Loss" piece.
Photo 14Photo 14
Photo 14

View of the water from the park downtown Seattle.
Photo 15Photo 15
Photo 15

Sunset from the hostel in Seattle.
Photo 16Photo 16
Photo 16

My hostel bed (bottom bunk), with the sunset reflecting off the window.
Photo 17Photo 17
Photo 17

This is the view of the sunset when I sit on my bed in the hostel.
Photo 18Photo 18
Photo 18

Sunset from the hostel.


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb