Arrived in Seattle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
December 24th 2005
Published: December 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

As with all good journeys - our adventure began with some drama. I somehow managed to leave some vital documents at my parent’s - which I realized at the train station 15 minutes before our train to Gatwick was due to depart. As Noel and I waited for the train my dear old Father nearly sent himself to an early grave by driving home at 70 MPH, grabbing it, driving back and arriving just as our train was leaving the platform. The first we knew he’d succeeded in this mission was when I was called to first class over the tannoy (after the train had left), where I was greeted by a beaming train crew and driver who were very excited to give me my package which they had been handed to them by a well-spoken gentleman who was red in the face and out of breath….
After a small scare with the check in guy who was not sure we could use the US as a hub for such a long journey we proceeded to the bar for our last pint (pint being 20 oz. and not 16!) of lager fore a while. We boarded the plane and the captain greeted all the passengers by thanking us Brits for our help in the ‘war on terror’ but suggested it was only to be expected as the US had helped us out in WW2, enough said!
We arrived safely in Seattle (via Dallas) 17 hours later and went straight to bed. Zzzzz.



Advertisement



29th December 2005

Well, Taz, things don't change over the years do they!

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb