the best things are the worthless now; that's just because they're free


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
June 8th 2008
Published: June 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Discovery Park HikeDiscovery Park HikeDiscovery Park Hike

Great day for a hike. Gotta hike up to get down...I guess.
Subject was taken from Louden Wainwright's song "Last Man on Earth" (Aaron first introduced me to this song, and it's a good one so check it out maybe?)

Anyway...Saturday...Couchsurfing Event - Nature hike in Discovery Park during low tide. kinda neat. check out the pictures

I met some really cool people today. Sorry guys, Allen was a no show. He had to work (remember DD 4th edition came out this weekend) so he couldn't get off. There was a large turnout for this event. You'll see most of the people in the photos (atleast one photo has most of the people). So, I mainly stuck around 3 other people, Alejandro from Austin Texas, Anna from Paris, and Jeremy from Lyon. Those were probably my favorite people/the people I spent the most time with.

Alejandro has been unemployed for 54 days and is traveling around the US and Canada searching for a place to settle down in and live. He is bored of Austin. So this is the route that he is taking more or less: Driving from Austin going north to North Dakota then west to Seattle (that has taken roughly 54 days at his pace). He is
Low tidesLow tidesLow tides

that's where we are trying to go.
then flying from Seattle to New Jersey. He plans to stay there for a few weeks, then take about a month long trip back across the united states/actually maybe canada via train to Seattle where his car will be. He doesnt know where he's going after that. He is also a big fan of pockets. And he is hilarious.

Anna is from Paris, France. She's super cool and, i may or may not have a crush on her. I didnt get that great of pictures of her because I was still tweaking things with my camera and I didn't want to feel like a stalker. She is studiyng English here for 6 months so l'll hopefully get to see her a couple more times.

Jeremy is from Lyon, France. He is a cool dude and will also be here all of June. We talked about such things as Denver (not the city) the last dinasaur. So, I'm pretty sure we ended up singing that together, i was singing it in English, him in French. Apparently Denver the last dinasaur is huge in France. He also thought that all Texans had nicknames and wanted to know Alejandro's. Alejandro deosn't
CS-SeattleCS-SeattleCS-Seattle

Here are most of the people that showed up. Jeremy is second from the left behind the girl in the green. Alejandro is just left of me in a tan sweatshirt. Anna is over my other shoulder with the blue scarf.
do nicknames.

You might be like "what did you actually do?" well, look at the pictures. We hiked and that's what it looked like.

Saturday night -

some crazy man at the movie store asked me if i was a "tiger" and that's when i thought i knew he was crazy (he looked crazy and by that question he confirmed it) but I apparently judged too quickly; I was wearing a Mizzou shirt - and apparently he knows quinn snyder. But, upon further inspection and conversation I found out that i was right the first time - he was crazy. And no mr. crazy man, if you're reading this, I dont actually think $6.50 is a good deal for one fake tan. If I were you, I'd stick to the 11am-4pm m-f happy hour special ($5/tan) if you must tan. (no one is tan in Seattle except for this guy). Unless I start going to the happy hour tanning special, I won't be a bronzed beauty when I return either because all I have worn so far since I've been here are pants and hooded sweatshirts. Good thing for me I packed a ton of t-shirts and
More low tidesMore low tidesMore low tides

We're trying to hike down there still.
4 pairs of shorts and just like 2 long-sleeve t-shirts and 2 pairs of pants which were merely afterthoughts in the packing process. Hiking today in Discovery Park with my PwC laptop bag as my day pack was also out of place.





Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Anna and JeremyAnna and Jeremy
Anna and Jeremy

this picture didn't turn out that well but whatever.
trail closedtrail closed
trail closed

the trail was closed so we stopped to think. I took pictures of the group.
FinallyFinally
Finally

we found our way down.
lost in translationlost in translation
lost in translation

I asked Jeremy to take a picture of me with the reflection but I think it was partly lost in translation
CSersCSers
CSers

I apparently ove reflection shots.
quasi picnicquasi picnic
quasi picnic

we had a quasi picnic and Jesse brough some wine - chug it!
Check out these little girls...Check out these little girls...
Check out these little girls...

they dug up a geoduck! (google image search it). They're really hard to dig up. The name comes from a native american word that means "to dig deep." This one lost it's neck because it will cut it's own neck off or something to get away from you.


Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb