Seattle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
November 21st 2007
Published: December 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me having funMe having funMe having fun

on my plastic horse
Before we left Australia Jono and I realised at the last minute that we needed to get US visas as we were stopping off in Hawaii on the way to Canada. Long story that I do not feel like going in to here, suffice to say we both ended up with a multiple entry five-year visa to the US. So, when our friend Cass suggested we go see Band of Horses play in Seattle, we both leapt at the idea. We wanted, after all, to make use of those damn visas.

We had also heard that Seattle was a very cool City and worth visiting. Only a three hour drive (assuming no hassles at the border) from our place, is apparently a favourite weekend destination for Vancouverites - especially lately with the Canadian dollar being, for the first time in a while, higher than the US.

We stayed in a very cool hostel, which happened to be the only hostel in Seattle called the green tortoise. It was clean and friendly and had free food. What more could you want? Oh, and it was right around the corner from the venue where we saw Band of Horses.

They absolutely rocked. It was the first live music I had seen since leaving home, and I have so missed going out to see good music. It was great to have a good dance to some sweet melodic tunes. We met a charismatic local called Frankie who bought us strong drinks all night. He kept saying things to the bar tenders like “these are my friends from Oz - look after them.” I swear there was one rum and coke I had where I could not taste the coke. I could see a kind-of-brown tinge and that was it.

The next day we walked through the local Pike Markets, also just around the block from the hostel. Even though it was mid-week, the markets were vibrant and full of life. Musicians and various types of performers, fish mongers yelling and singing and so much amazing produce.

When we went looking for lunch, we got side tracked via on old school type games arcade complete with a carousel, where we all tapped in to our inner child. After we found some fish and chips for lunch we went to REI, the American equivalent of MEC, which was (of course) BIGGER and BETTER! MEC blew me away when we got to Canada, and REI totally blew me to pieces. It was HUGE. We got pretty lost and what was meant to be a quick stop ended up being a few hours. Then it was time to hit the road back home. Unfortunately, we got caught in peak hour Seattle traffic - something I do not recommend anyone doing - and the trip home took about 5 hours.



Additional photos below
Photos: 32, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Scary monk fishScary monk fish
Scary monk fish

The people at this fish stall had some way of making this thing move, so while I was kneeling in front of it to take this picture, it started moving. I nearly fell backwards.
Some statueSome statue
Some statue

Can't remember who it was now...
Cass ready to slam it Cass ready to slam it
Cass ready to slam it

for a plastic ring
Me felxing my musclesMe felxing my muscles
Me felxing my muscles

also for a plastic ring
Me befriending a local musoMe befriending a local muso
Me befriending a local muso

and trying to sing along
My new friendMy new friend
My new friend

continuing a long Seattle tradition
Jono and CassJono and Cass
Jono and Cass

waiting for me - cause I keep taking pictures


Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0187s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb