Searching for McDreamy in Seattle


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
November 12th 2007
Published: November 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

What a shame he wasn't at the airport waiting for me! Instead I got Mr McGrumpy, who got rather annoyed when I had no cash to give him a tip. Anyway never mind have had a fab time here. The hotel is amazing. It is built right over the water and you will see from the pictures it has some pretty cool views inside and out. The rooms are sooo nice and it is really close to everything you would want to see. Hence if you're coming here I recommend staying at The Edgewater. Apparently, I am not the only person who liked it. Rockstars stay here, and in 1965 The Beatles satyed here and fished out the window. They had to ban this practise, as the said rockstars left the fish in odd places around their hotel rooms causing quite a stink!.
On Saturday, after my short flight from Eugene, I had enjoy time to go a wander along the waterfront and up to Pike Place Market. I also took in the aquarium and browsed round some of the shops. If I had more $$$ I could shop till I drop here as there are some cute little boutiques and a variety of department stores here in the city where Nordstrum started out. In fact it is not just the home of Nordstrum but also Starbucks, Amazon, Microsoft and, therefore, squillions of dollars worth of real estate and wealthy people. Perhaps, thats why I had to spend a little more on my dinner on Saturday night.
On Sunday I got up and had breakfast in my favourite dining room ever. I love places with views, I don't even care so much about the food. Maybe that's because I was brought up on Beechwood Drive, but then the food was delicious there......soooook! :-)
After breakfast, and my Seattle to Glasgow cross cultural communication, I got on a city tour. We toured Downtown; Chinatown; various viewpoints; the cribs of the rich and famous; various neighbourhoods; Pioneer Square and I got out at the end at The Space Needle. The weather was typically cold and quite driech, but I have to say I didn't notice it until the end when I was at the top of The Space Needle. The photos give you some idea of what the tour was like and I feel like I could probably do with another couple of days to take in everything. It is a city with a lot of syle but at the same time it has the buzz of a place that is not too pretentious. I would love to return in the summer to take a ferry cruise and do some more shopping and take in some of the museums. If I had tried to fit it all in I think I would have to be "Sleepless in Seattle".


Additional photos below
Photos: 74, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

SealSeal
Seal

They must train the seals in order to administer medication.
Seal Seal
Seal

Shows what can happen if you don't cut up your six pack packaging. I say save the worry and just drink wine! hee hee
Pike PlacePike Place
Pike Place

Fish is thrown about as the crowd watch. I don't think the crowd would be quite so big if the guys were not so hot!
Same hot guys...Same hot guys...
Same hot guys...

.....oops I mean same market


12th November 2007

looks fab
Your photos are great Joanna, you're certainly getting around! Seattle is a place I always fancied visiting - maybe some day. Certainly looks like plenty to see, pity there were no handsome men around. Sx
16th November 2007

how nice!
Looks absolutely great. Glad to hear you had such a nice time and i love looking at your photos to see all your travels! Ali xxx

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0255s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb