coffee, anyone?


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Seattle
August 5th 2005
Published: August 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Pike PlacePike PlacePike Place

I stayed next door to this place and used the sign as my north star. Interestingly enough, it's not just a tourist place.
Taking everyone's advice, I went out to Seattle since that's supposedly where I'm meant to be. I did my standard morning runs to explore the area and tried the food (I had my first crumpet!) and the beer . . . all of which exceeded my expectations. Seattle was unusually sunny (note glare in the pictures), but that doesn't make it warm. For a girl who's lived in the South all of my life, it's odd to want a sweatshirt in August. I hit up one of Tom Douglas' restaurants (the one at 5th and Lenora), Wild Ginger, Zoe's, Pike Place Market, and Top Pot doughnuts . . . the Experience Music Project, the Art Walk, Volunteer Park, the Arboreteum, the Boeing assembly line for 747s, and the majestic Mt. Rainier.
While Seattle is certainly walkable, my friends Jess and Matt gave me a personalized driving tour of the city, including the troll under the bridge, the Pi sign, and the starlit view of the city from Queen Anne's Hill. You'll note in the above list that I did not go to Seattle's most notable landmark, the Space Needle. While I'm sure it's a lovely view, the building where Matt and
I've heard of barking up the wrong treeI've heard of barking up the wrong treeI've heard of barking up the wrong tree

but this seems a little absurd. Taken while I read in Volunteer Park.
Jess work have fabulous views of the city from the 48th floor so I got an equivalent view of the entire city for free.
People are certainly friendlier . . . it's a little bit like the South in that regard. And the people who live in Seattle love living there . . . aside from Austin, I don't think I've found that anywhere else. I would definitely become a coffee person (but not a Starbucks person) if I lived there. I don't know if I would make Seattle my first choice of places to live, but I certainly wouldn't mind if I found a job there. Why do financial people always choose cold places to establish their businesses?


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Can I play?Can I play?
Can I play?

also in Volunteer Park . . .
Woodland Park's latest additionWoodland Park's latest addition
Woodland Park's latest addition

This elephant is about a year old I think . . .and quite small compared to its parents!
my favorite animals!my favorite animals!
my favorite animals!

Tigers! Unfortunately, I wasn't camera ready when these guys were chasing each other - it's quite adorable!
Real EstateReal Estate
Real Estate

One of the things I noticed in Seattle is that impressive views of the water happen unexpectedly when you turn a corner . . . I was lost on my way to the Arboreteum and stumbled across this.
more real estatemore real estate
more real estate

I'm also impressed by the houses in Seattle . . . most of them are unique in some way (as though someone put thought into the design as opposed to building the same home 400 times as is standard on the East Coast). I was particularly taken with this house.
Experience Music ProjectExperience Music Project
Experience Music Project

This is a must-see in Seattle . . . there's an entire exhibit where artists talk about how they approach songwriting . . . there's also a mock studio where you can have an initial lesson in instruments - keyboards, drums, and guitar. After 18 years, I finally got to try playing percussion!
FountainFountain
Fountain

Also at the Seattle Center . . . I didn't even get to play in a fire hydrant when I was young. . these kids have a freakin' fountain!
Mt. RainierMt. Rainier
Mt. Rainier

Who knew I'd have to be concerned with a glare from the sun? Every picture I took of the Mountain was so bright, you could hardly see it . . . will have to improve photography skills before going abroad!


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0437s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb