Canoes and Bald Eagles


Advertisement
Published: July 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a horrible exam at the Lasik guy up in Seattle (they mistook me for another person once, asked me why I wanted to maybe get lasik twice (already got lasik suckers), and tried to get me too early for my eye dilation) I came to really appreciate Dr. Assil’s office in LA. What would have taken them 10mins at Assil’s, took a good 2 hours at the place in Seattle. Out of that 2 hours I would guess I was in the waiting room 1.5 hours, and saw the actual doctor for 5mins. Can’t wait to get that bill!

Drew got out of Lab early today and we went for a voyage around Lake Washington in a canoe we rented from U of W.

There were many adventures on the water in the 2 hrs we spent out there (which only cost us $7).

We rowed all over the lake. Found a dead fish floating in the water, and were able to eventually get it into our boat! Why did we want to get it into our boat? The question should be, why not…We saved that little fish from almost certain doom.


Then we rowed over to the big bridge that leads to Bellevue. It was a trip trying to row in between the columns of the bridge.

Then we saw a bald eagle! What a trip. I got some photos as it flew toward us, hunt us and other pray. It tried to eat our dead fish, but we fended it off with our paddles. Is it illegal to kill an endangered species in self-defense. I hope not. Can’t you kill a person on your property in self-defense…If that’s true, an animal shouldn’t count for more than a person, should it?

Finally we docked at the harbor. Then Drew took me over to his lab and showed me around. It was magical (Lots of beakers of moldy stuff). Drew used the telescope for a minute to dissect a small molecular pathogen. A beautiful dissection, and very swift too!

Ale got into town tonight and we went to a Martini Bar for dinner! It was great.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.252s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 67; dbt: 0.1349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb