Off to a rough start...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » SeaTac
March 10th 2010
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Not what you want to seeNot what you want to seeNot what you want to see

They had JUST closed the door!!!
I think I (Kevyn) may have cursed it for us when, after a particularly harrowing cab ride to the airport in blowing snow, windshield wipers operating at .4%!,(MISSING) and a scary driver ("geez, you can't even tell where you are....we could be on a totally different street, not even headed to the airport!"), I said , "Well, I hope this isn't setting the tone for the whole day."

***DING DING DING! You win! You're right! Your whole day is going to be a bit of a mess!***

So, we get to the gate and board the plane on time. At this point, we are exhausted (got up at 4am) but hopeful that it will be smooth from here on out. They announce that we will have to de-ice twice as there is a lot of snow build-up on the engine. Hey, no arguements, there. So after about an hour on the ground, we are beginning to push back from the gate. I'm in and out of sleep at this point until I hear (somewhat muffled through my earplugs) the horrifying and all too distinctive sound of vomiting. The guy next to me is shaking his head and holding his
wah wah wahhhhhhhhhhhhwah wah wahhhhhhhhhhhhwah wah wahhhhhhhhhhhh

Eating and interneting in the airport.
ears. I lean over and ask, "where's the puker?". He grimaces and replies grimmly, "right behind us".

Dave says he was trying not to look at me, knowing all too well about my weak stomach. The poor guy just kept going, until finally they told him he had to get off the plane. He didn't want to go, but back the gate we went. Of course, then we had to go through the de-icing process all over again, causing us to lose our place in line to take-off. We ended up getting off the ground over 2 hours late.

We landed in Seattle at 12:45pm, our flight to Seoul was already boarding and due to take off at 1:00pm. We had hopes of being able to make the flight if we could hustle. Before the seat belt light was even off, we were out of our seats, in the aisle and made it as far as Row 13. Yes, we were every flight attendent's nightmare. We juked and jived through the jetway, pulling off our best Amazing Race contestant impersonation. We were at the N gates and needed to be at the S gates, which is as far
three steps at a timethree steps at a timethree steps at a time

Of course, this is a re-enactment....I am not so photo crazy that I was trying to take photos while we running to catch our plane! Close, but not there yet.
across the airport as two places could be. We had to take three different trains to get there.

You should have seen Dave....taking the escalator steps three at a time, hurdling over small childern and wheelie bags. In a previous era, I'd have said he was doing a fantastic OJ Simpson commercial, but wouldn't want anyone to think he was murdering anyone and trying to get away with it. But it was all for naught. We arrived at S-10 at 1:04pm just as they were shutting the aircraft door. The jetway had only just begun to pull away from the plane which was still parked at the gate, taunting us. Through the belabored breathing, we pleaded, but only just a little bit. I think I discovered the thing that the Amazing Race producers must have seen in us. We wouldn't provide enough drama. I was upset, but I didn't even cry. I think I tossed a few cuss words around, but only in frustration, not directed at Dave or anyone, so I don't think we'd have made for good TV. Oh well....

We got a hotel voucher, took the light rail train into downtown, ate dinner, saw a jazz band and got some sleep. We got a super quick visit this morning with my sister and niece and are sitting at the gate at our Korean Airlines flight. We WILL be getting on this one.




Advertisement



10th March 2010

Bummer!!!
Wah Wah is right. Hope you guys have better luck soon!
11th March 2010

SO SORRY
Hi Kevyn and Dave, I am so sorry that happened but have to say that I am really HAPPY that I wasn't the employee at the airline counter when you arrived. Kevyn...remember when that flight attendant went somewhat postal on us halfway between here and Hawaii??? Telling us Mikie was older than he was and he couldn't have a bagel and apple until we proved he paid for his own ticket??? SERIOUSLY....ANGER....BAD ANGER..... you and I went crazy on him and then had to pipe down because it was way too soon after September 11th. The rainbow in all of it was that you got to see Sara and your niece..... AND I am sure having a few cocktails after being through the craziness helped a bit. Safe travels and we are looking forward to your updates. :) Julie
11th March 2010

Enjoying the blog but then it is always great to hear about your travels. Hopefully you are on your way to a great trip.
11th March 2010

I'm sorry about your rough start... but I loved the story! I especially love the re-enactment photo! I can't wait to hear more! Miss you! Love you!

Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 16; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0686s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb