Happy 4th of July!


Advertisement
Published: July 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, I think the only people who don't go to the Friday Harbor Fourth of July parade are dead, so I figured I better go. Actually it was really fun and worth it, although I could have done without seeing every single firetruck on the island drive by slowly. After the parade was over, I drove out to Lime Kiln State Park and explored the tidepools. Pictures of the tidepools will have to wait until later. I don't know why I felt the need to take so many parade pictures, but I just wasted two hours of my life uploading them, so I hope someone actually looks at them!


Additional photos below
Photos: 74, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

ParadeParade
Parade

A kayaking company? Some floats weren't that good at mentioning what they were for....
Wolf HollowWolf Hollow
Wolf Hollow

Yay! We have an offical "Wolf Hollow" truck, but they probably didn't want to take it in the parade in case there was a wildlife call - or else there was already one when it came time to go to the parade.
Wolf HollowWolf Hollow
Wolf Hollow

This is actually someone I work with's personal truck (A Toyota pickup - pfft. I'd be ashamed to take that out in public on the 4th of July!!!).
Wolf HollowWolf Hollow
Wolf Hollow

There are stuffed animals in those carriers - it was pretty cute.
Wolf HollowWolf Hollow
Wolf Hollow

Yes, those are people dressed up as a seal and an owl. Then the doctor is bandaging the owl.
Wolf HollowWolf Hollow
Wolf Hollow

Glad I wasn't an intern here.
Classic Cab CompanyClassic Cab Company
Classic Cab Company

The long-haired owner is Dana. Dana is also a sharpshooter, and occasionally helps out Wolf Hollow if there is an injured deer who it would be impossible to get a needle of sodium pentobarbital into. A little scary, but also kind of cool.
Animals on Parade...Animals on Parade...
Animals on Parade...

...was the theme, so there were dogs everywhere.
Animals on ParadeAnimals on Parade
Animals on Parade

Someone apparently painted his or her pet boxer with tiger stripes.
De LoreanDe Lorean
De Lorean

Yes, that is what you think it is.
De LoreanDe Lorean
De Lorean

At one point smoke came out of the back.
More DogsMore Dogs
More Dogs

These were with the SJAPS group but they don't have "Adopt Me" signs, so I like to think they have a good home now.


5th July 2008

Scottish People
Does anyone really need a *reason* to put on a kilt and be Scottish?! :D :D :D
5th July 2008

Well, I didn't go to the parade but sure enjoyed the pictures! Thanks.
15th July 2008

Fun!
The parade looks great. At least like more fun than the Bastille Day one I stood around forever for. How long are you going to be there for?

Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0509s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb