Tidepools


Advertisement
Published: July 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After the parade I ran away quickly to get to Lime Kiln Point State Park by noon so I could go on the tidepool exploration walk. I was the only one there, so the guide took me to a more secluded area which I never would have considered going to by myself. The "trail" included a bunch of rocks that we had to climb down and walking essentially up the side of a cliff. She did it in a skirt, though, so I felt like I was being a bit of a baby. Anyway, we saw some neat stuff.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The TrailThe Trail
The Trail

I actually climbed down (and back up) this giant rock.
The TrailThe Trail
The Trail

The photo really doesn't do it justice. This was a challenge for someone with a negative sense of balance and zero coordination.
Gumboot Chiton!Gumboot Chiton!
Gumboot Chiton!

The largest of the chitons.
Chitons againChitons again
Chitons again

You can also see a lot of limpets
A snailA snail
A snail

Surrounded by haystack barnacles
More chitonsMore chitons
More chitons

I think there are a couple of different species there.
SpongeSponge
Sponge

Crumb of bread sponge?
Christmas AnenomeChristmas Anenome
Christmas Anenome

(What do you call a sea creature who commits treason?)
LimpetLimpet
Limpet

And my hand.


Tot: 0.135s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0451s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb