Central Washington


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Kennewick
July 10th 2008
Published: July 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


day 2 001day 2 001day 2 001

I had to have my morning coffee.
Today was a hot day of riding. Right now I am not sure what the temperature was, but I would guess at times it was 90+ Fahrenheit. Some of you may know I have more to look forward to, probably 100+ degrees plus throw in some humidity. Those relatives better be worth the torture from the weather! Nebraska here I come!

Right now I am killing a little bit of time before I head over to the Dorsings’ house. I am sitting at Potholes State Park outside Othello, and it is quite pleasant. I think it is actually much hotter while I am riding the bike at 70mph in the sun than it is while I am sitting in the shade. It is temping to wear only a t-shirt while I ride in the heat, but overall I don’t think it is a good idea. I bought the gear for a reason, and might as well use it. For those of you who know the motorcycle jargon, we don’t need any more squids on the road!

I ate lunch in Coulee City, and met another couple that rode their Harley’s into town. They were from Ohio, and told me
day 2 002day 2 002day 2 002

On top of Stevens Pass.
that when I pass through I am welcome to stay a night with them. I might just take them up on that if I don’t have anywhere else to stay. We ate at a little bar and grill, and we were the only ones in the restaurant which was pretty cool. The town of Coulee City really doesn’t have much going on, I am not going to lie. The Grand Coulee Dam was about 30 miles up the road (in the opposite direction I needed to go), so I decided not to go check it out. I am finding out that 250 miles is just about perfect for me to travel in one day. I know it doesn’t sound like much, but I get sportbike butt if I sit on the motorcycle too long. It is not my back or any other part of me, only my butt, just in case you were wondering. The bike has been getting about 50 miles per gallon, which is pretty nice too.

Anywho, off to the house I go. I’m signing off until next time…


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

day 2 003day 2 003
day 2 003

Another Stevens Pass, minus the geek in the picture.
day 2 005day 2 005
day 2 005

This is what I get to look at all day.
day 2 006day 2 006
day 2 006

I stopped in the middle of nowhere, and found my 2 friends off in the distance. These were nice dogs, I just thought it was funny that they are up in high desert country running around. After I gave them a pet they ran off into the fields, way far off in the fields.
day 2 007day 2 007
day 2 007

In the middle of nowhere, but in the background is where I rode from.
day 2 009day 2 009
day 2 009

There were some cool mountain/cliffs along the way. Not much around on highway 2 before Coulee City.


10th July 2008

"sportbike butt." i love it. :)
11th July 2008

You have great taste in Motorcycles! ;-)
Its hot here also and not any "new scenery" to be found anywhere so its up to you....

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb