Planning, booking, charging and we haven't even left yet!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Ferndale
April 19th 2013
Published: April 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Our Travel Route


In an earlier stage of my life I was a travel agent. I remember those days fondly but I can't believe I enjoyed all the searching, analyzing, booking, changing, verifying that I did!! London and Cinque Terra are the final stops that we need accommodation so I'm going to get on that....well soon. I'm playing the travelers gamble with our International flights as I don't have them booked yet. All other flights are booked and confirmed so I guess we keep our fingers crossed that I can get us over there and back at the right time. In my 20's when I was a travel agent I used to wake up in a complete panic wondering if I had sent a deposit payment or notice for a customer...I always had. Trev would calmly look at me (I could feel that look in the dark!!) and say either stop wondering and go back to sleep or get up and go in to the office and deal with it. Somehow I found a way to go back to sleep 😊 When Tara and I were down getting her citizenship finalized on April 17th, same wake up moment....wondering if I had paid the deposit on our Paris apartment...no such luck with this much older brain...turns out I was overdue. Thank goodness the booking was still there. They are duly paid. We have had so much fun planning this trip. Many hours with the map book, laptop, coffee in hand, side by side on the couch or at the counter. Funny how even planning a trip our personalities and roles remain the same. I'm looking for the deals, spending hours and deriving such glee from my finds and Trev just shaking his head with a smile on his face saying "just pay whatever they are asking!" That is just so contrary to every molecule of my being!!! I want a killer deal. An aggressive haggle session is always welcome. Time now to buy "the" camera, and carry on luggage. I keep looking at these tiny carry on cases and wonder how in the world I'm going to pack for a 6 week trip. When I travelled as a teenager we were allowed MUCH bigger suitcases and I still wound up hating every piece of clothing. I don't think I came back with any pieces that I left with. It is fortunate that we are traveling in the warmer months as clothes are much lighter. I'm sure we will manage but I do feel a bit daunted by the DOWNSIZE task. Canadian passport renewal needs to be done. Travel insurance. Small liquid containers purchased. Travel bibles bought. I'm sure I'm missing something but still have time to remember before we leave. Wish me luck on our international flights. June 22 is the target departure and August 5 the return.

Advertisement



20th April 2013

Hello Delaney Duo and welcome to travel blog
After reading this introduction I am laughing and waiting eagerly on future blogs. We travel for months with a very small bag. Don't over pack. Looking forward to your adventure.

Tot: 0.312s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb