Heliotrope Ridge


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Bellingham
August 15th 2006
Published: August 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Enjoying the viewEnjoying the viewEnjoying the view

This is the view from as high as you can go without venturing onto the glaciers.

Heliotrope Glissading




This is my first blog- Over the weekend my dad (Mike) and I headed out to Heliotrope Ridge. The hike is Located next to Mt. Baker, home to the World Record Snowfall and some pretty frickin sweet skiing. But the weekend instead included some flippin' sweet backpackin (I promise no more references to Mr Dynamite). The hike itself is relatively short- 3 miles, 1600 vert feet, with some fun (according to me) river crossings.

This trip was chalk full of controversy, plot points, and bloggable tidbits. Unfortunately, I'm an introvert, and a private person, so those controversies will remain secret. I will say however, I have conclusive proof that Tom Cruise and Katie Holmes have a baby.

A few things hold true in both worlds (W's and Everyone else's), Jack Daniels straight no chaser is just as harsh in the mountains as it is at home (well maybe not true for GW). But, Everyone has issues with mice, they freakin ate all my gorp, except the raisins, (which I like least), and I suppose- you aren't going anywhere if you don't get your feet wet, unless of course you're a trained ninja with
FlowersFlowersFlowers

In case the picture wasn't obvious enough.
masterful feet, and rivercrossing finesse. However neither I nor my dad is.

In one weeks time I will be in Thailand, visiting a massage parlor- (not seriously) but probably seriously jetlagged. And taking a lot of pills. Not the 'I'm in pain pills,' but the 'I don't want to be in pain and piss black cause I have malaria' pills.

Tell my blog skills improve- (I've reduced myself to a toddlers intelligence for the next 7 days so as to take advantage of the incredible skill mastery and memorization they have) In one weeks time, I will hopefully know how to post photos next to words and double space.






Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Deming GlacierDeming Glacier
Deming Glacier

Mas Flowers
The skeezeThe skeeze
The skeeze

Or lack there of.
Camp in the treesCamp in the trees
Camp in the trees

Not the most scenic spot to settle, but the river is mellifluous, and does a superb job of drowning out the snoring.
Trails end-Trails end-
Trails end-

Pretty dank spot for lunch.


15th August 2006

guess I'll have to check my e-mail
Great site/great hike/Dad is still sore!

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0899s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb