Virginia


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia
May 17th 2005
Published: May 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

World War II MemorialWorld War II MemorialWorld War II Memorial

This is where the Reflecting Pool drains into the WWII Memorial.
So, this will be pretty quick 'cause I'm on a dialup connection.

To make a long drive short--Lotsa dead armadillos. Oklahoma smells like skunk. Big thunderstorm in Arkansas.

Ben and I are now at his parents' house in Fairfax, VA. On the way we stopped at Weyers Cave, VA to visit my Uncle and Aunt on my mom's side. They entertained us for lunch! ...They now have five cats.

We went to Herndon, VA yesterday to put flowers on my other Uncle's grave. I was happy that we had an easy time finding it!

Today we wore ourselves out in DC. Went to all the outdoorsy stuff--WWII memorial, Reflecting pool, Lincoln Memorial, Vietnam Memorial, White House, etc. Also stopped in Air and Space Museum and the American History Museum.

Tomorrow Ben's mom is coming with us to DC to see the Museum of the American Indian. I am really looking forward to that one. I would love to go see Dumbarton Oaks--But I think it is closed. Dammit. Anyways. Some pic's to follow.





Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



17th May 2005

Count?
Hey where's the dead armadillo count? How'd you keep your sanity in TX?
23rd May 2005

Dead Armadillos
Yeah, I couldn't keep track. It was crazy. Texas was the usual bore--however, I am always mesmerized by the "Largest Cross in the Western Hemisphere."

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb