The start of a grand adventure!!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia
August 16th 2006
Published: August 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Ever since April, when I found out that I had definitely been accepted to study abroad in SCOTLAND, several of my lovely readers have been demanding that I start a travel blog to chronicle my adventures. Their demands were quite flattering, and after all, I can't disappoint my public. So I am launching this excellent blogue (British spelling 😉) (not really) to keep everyone posted on my doings. One of my friends once told me that my emails to her sounded "weird," because she wasn't used to hearing me talk for long uninterrupted intervals, so she had no idea what such an occurrence would sound like. Prepare yourselves for a similar epiphany!

So far, my preparations for my trip have consisted of: watching acclaimed BBC series The Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin and Blackadder, reading books by Agatha Christie and Shakespeare ("Our greatest living writer," according to English politician David Milliband), listening to the Beatles, extensively quoting all of the above, and making (and eating) a trifle, which is a traditional English dessert. All of these activities will prepare me for immersion in British culture. . . .

Also, a Petrel, as seen in my user picture, is a seabird found in the western coast of Scotland. It's related to the albatross. I'm also uploading another picture that I feel is very pertinent to this topic. Hee hee.

And, finally, one of my (many) favorite moments from British television, just to get you in the mood for what's to come (knowing that I am a quoting fiend and that I'll shortly be in Scotland, where even the most mundane phrases are quoteable, muahaha!):


Percy: You know, they do say that the Infanta’s eyes are more beautiful than the famous Stone of Galveston.

Edmund: Mmm! . . . What?

Percy: The famous Stone of Galveston, my lord.

Edmund: And what’s that, exactly?

Percy: Well, it’s a famous blue stone, and it comes (points dramatically) from Galveston.

Edmund: I see. And what about it?

Percy: Well, my lord, the Infanta’s eyes are bluer than it, for a start.

Edmund: I see. And have you ever seen this stone?

Percy: (nods) No, not as such, my lord, but I know a couple of people who have, and they say it’s very, very blue indeed.

Edmund: And have these people seen the Infanta’s eyes?

Percy: No, I shouldn’t think so, my lord.

Edmund: And neither have you, presumably.

Percy: No, my lord.

Edmund: So, what you’re telling me, Percy, is that something you have never seen is slightly less blue than something else you have never seen.


(from Blackadder, Season I)

Advertisement



18th August 2006

hurrah!
Enlightening and entertaining, how could I possibly ask for more? (Bonus ponts for the Get Fuzzy cartoon -- lots of bonus points.) Cheers!
21st August 2006

I'm your first subscriber!!!!!! IN YOUR FACE, WORLD!!!!!! ::jigs::
31st August 2006

Wait how come i was not invited? awwww now i am hurt...
1st September 2006

Don't worry. . .
I'm not inviting people per se. . . I just posted the link on facebook and figured people would come across it eventually. But if you want to join the upper echelon of readers, you can subscribe! Then you'll get a personal email every time I add a new entry!

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb