Smithfield Sprint


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia
March 31st 2008
Published: March 31st 2008
Edit Blog Post

JFCOM Triathlon CompetitorsJFCOM Triathlon CompetitorsJFCOM Triathlon Competitors

We wait inside the warm YMCA for the competition to begin. No one is looking forward to the goosebump-temperature outside.
Lauren, my niece, says I'm lucky to ride my bike in March in shorts and repot plants in Virginia; she's in Pittsburgh. I must agree though, I am lucky - Friday in Virginia Beach is 82 degrees.

However, Saturday in Smithfield is <50 degrees. Will pneumonia sneak up on me by swimming and then cycling in wet clothes? I'm uncertain, but this is the difference between a 3 minute swim/bike transition time vs. a 1.5 minute transition time. With a quick transition time, I could gain an advantage and rank higher by saving that minute. Especially, since I really haven't been training.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Bike to Run TransitionBike to Run Transition
Bike to Run Transition

Ten miles in the cold, wet clothing wasn't so bad. Off to the three mile run I go.
Hot or ColdHot or Cold
Hot or Cold

Finish time: 1:15:45. I think I'm hot, but that wind sure is cold. Just give me a few minutes to breathe. Oh, and I have to thank the athlete who is standing behind me having his ankle timing chip cut off. We kept the same pace and had a nice conversation which made the last mile go by quickly.
Number 273 is heading home Number 273 is heading home
Number 273 is heading home

Favorite part of triathlon: exiting the pool. New discovery: lots of little braids keeps the hair out of my face and eyes. Looking forward to: heated car and hot shower. Come on, stop taking photos and lets get in the car.


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb