April 26th: Lewis Mountain Campground


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia
April 26th 2007
Published: April 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

OD’s comments: Fog. That was the word for today; we were in from start to finish. There
were a few times that the sun looked like a white disk through the clouds, but
we never saw any blue sky. Started off at Big Meaddows and walked to the Lewis
Mountain Campground. We had thought about staying at the Bearfence shelter but
it was early and only a mile more. Temp hovered in the low 40s. Our elevation
hovered between 3,000' and 3,800' with little more than 500' loss or gain on any
one hill. Black Rock, Hazeltop and Bearfence Mountain were the peaks we
covered. The Bearfence Mountain was quite spectacular looking (what we could
see) and we thought about doing the loop trail. Not being sure where it would
come out as the map was stashed away and I was too lazy to get it out. We passed
on the detour. If you are ever down here in the park I would recommend it as a
day hike.
We bumped into a small group of folks from close to home, Tupper Lake, NY.
Nancy, one of the women, had the same pack as me, loaded just like me! She was a
"Seasoned Citizen" with at least 15 years on me. Thin as a rail, she smiled when
I told her I wanted to get a picture of them together. The packs name is
Bernard. Chatted a bit too long and CC prodded me to get going as she was
getting cold and starting to cramp up. Her knees did not give her too much
trouble, but her feet are really sore tonight. My heel blisters are still there,
but I am doing my Ranger doctoring on them and still in the hunt. Today was
about 9.75 miles.
CC is one of the toughest people I know. She is the Energizer Bunny with a
backpack, a Timex watch with legs, takes a licking and keeps on ticking!

CC comments: Started out with the trail making a gentle ascent for quite a few miles. I
had a good fast pace until I crested the top. It dropped almost straight down for
just over a mile and my feet howled all the way down. On the flat area between
the first and second mountain, we came upon a well kept cemetery. Most of the
birth dates were back into the late 1800s. Talk about motivation, I might be
hurting but I'm not dead yet! When we got to the campground, OD bought me an
ice cream bar and a Hershey bar for tomorrow. Called Micki and had her put my
lighter sleeping bag as OD's down bag made me sweat all night.
Thank you to all my prayer warriors. I can still use all the prayers you can
muster. I know it is mainly by your prayers and the strength God gives me that I
have made it this far. I will rub my sore spots down with Ben-Gay, take some
aspirin, and roll up in my nylon and down cocoon and drift off to dream land.

Patrick, Deborah Mooney aka OD & CC
All Who Wander Are Not Lost


Advertisement



Tot: 0.194s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0833s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb