Parasailing in Va. Beach


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Virginia Beach
September 30th 2007
Published: September 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

One of the things I've enjoyed the most since moving here was going parasailing. My son treated me to this as an early birthday gift, since the parasailing boats don't go out in the fall (my birthday is late October). I'd been telling myself for years that I would go up, but never did. My son saw to it that I went as high as they go. From 1200 feet in the air with a parachute above your head, you can see the boat that's towing you, but you can no longer hear it! At that height, I could clearly see the dividing line between the red tide that had formed, and the more natural blue-green water further out into the ocean. The city of Norfolk is 15 miles away, but was totally visible from that high up, as was the new Town Center of Virginia Beach, which is eight miles from the oceanfront. If you've never been parasailing, Virginia Beach is a good place to try it out! Of course, the guys on the boat tried to sell us additional pictures taken with a 35mm camera while we're parasailing, but I was satisfied with the polaroid shot they took as I was
After Parasailing @ Va. BeachAfter Parasailing @ Va. BeachAfter Parasailing @ Va. Beach

Yes. I got "dunked" in the ocean.
being hoisted into the air. I could kick myself for not taking my camera on the boat with me, as I'm sure I could have gotten one of the other parasailers to snap a couple of shots of me being reeled out and reeled back in. Oh, and make sure you go with the guys at Adventure Parasail. They really did do a great job!

Having lived here for nearly 10 years, with access to the hospitality industry, some hotels you might want to consider when you're traveling to Virginia Beach, VA:

If you don't mind about a 10 minute drive to the oceanfront, they do a great job at Crowne Plaza Virginia Beach, and if you're staying for longer than seven days, the Candlewood Suites Virginia Beach might be the answer. If you absolutely have to stay on the oceanfront, there's a cool hotel smack in the middle of the boardwalk (well, not in the middle of the boardwalk, but at 18th street, you're about midway down the boardwalk, which runs 40 blocks!), Howard Johnson Oceanfront. The staff is friendly, the rates make sense, and you can walk to pretty much anywhere you want to go on the beach.

You can find out what's going on in town simply by checking the Virginia Beach Visitors Bureau's website. The city always has something going on (even in the winter, with "Holiday Lights at the Beach.")









Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0793s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb