SYTA @ Whistler


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » British Columbia » Whistler
September 30th 2007
Published: September 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On Whistler MountainOn Whistler MountainOn Whistler Mountain

I was impressed with the anukshuk sculpture, which I understand will be the symbol of the Vancouver Olympics.
THIS was an awesome trip. The flight from Norfolk was long (I was at the airport at 6am for a 7:45am flight). To be more accurate, it took ALL DAY! Sure, it was 8:30pm by the time I got to my hotel at Whistler Village, but you couldn't fool my body, which was tired and hungry and stiff from the nearly three hour bus ride from Vancouver airport to Whistler Village. Other's at the SYTA Convention compared our arrival at the village to giving birth. Once we saw how beautiful this place was, we forgot all about what an exhausting trip we'd taken just to get there.

Expect to hear a lot of Australian accents! I was surprised by how many Aussies there were at Whistler. The young lady at the front desk of my hotel, the gentleman who served me coffee at one of the many coffee shops in the village, our banquet servers, the keynote speaker...

There is plenty of information on line regarding all that Whistler has to offer. When I'm a little more acquainted with this blog, I will share a picture with you from the top of Whistler Mountain, where I truly did feel as
Views from atop Whistler MountainViews from atop Whistler MountainViews from atop Whistler Mountain

They were breathtaking!
if I was on top of the world.

Thanks to the people of Whistler for an outstanding week in British Columbia.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Top of the worldTop of the world
Top of the world

You truly feel that way on top of Whistler Mountain
AnukshukAnukshuk
Anukshuk

I hope I spelled that right! Our tour guide said they were built as a way for the indians to indicate that "I was here." If someone knows more about them, I'm all ears (or, in this case, eyes).


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb