St. Patrick's Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Richmond
March 17th 2009
Published: September 17th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 37.5406, -77.4334

The preparations for the trip naturally began some time ago, but what better time to start a travel blog to Ireland than on St. Patrick's Day? Kate reminded me on her way out the door that I need to put on green. Although it's unlikely that one of my tennis friends will pinch me if I forget, it seems like a good time to start getting into the spirit of our upcoming adventure. I've ordered a book from Barnes and Noble called A Pint of Plain: Tradition, Change, and the Fate of the Irish Pub. I'm hoping that it will both make for entertaining reading and provide some additional fodder for the paper on expatriate accounts that I will leave behind unfinished when I go.
Josh spent an hour at the Apple store yesterday learning how to import video clips and edit them on iMovie, I expect that this trip's blog will be upgraded with video. How exciting! One of the ladies at the Apple store was from Belfast and we talked about how low the airfares have been recently. She says that the weather should be about the same there as it has been here lately and Weather.com seems to confirm this. It looks like 50 and sunny during most of our trip. Fingers crossed!
We leave Thursday after Josh gets home from school. We will drive up to No. VA, stop in and see Tricia and the kids and head to Dulles soon after. Supposedly we will be wheels-up at 20:45.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb