Exciting last days


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Portsmouth
June 17th 2020
Published: June 17th 2020
Edit Blog Post

After Georgetown I ran into very high water through Myrtle Beach. Many houses were flooded along the waterway. Stayed at the Southport Marina and set up for the ride up Cape Fear River. Got slammed around 10 years ago and I wanted light winds. It gave me a break early in the morning and I was through in a few hours with no problem. I made the bridge in Wrightsville Beach right on time and decided to go to Mile Hammock anchorage. Had another calm night there with good sleep. Next day made it to Oriental and agonized over going the next. Called for wind early of under 15 so left a half hour before light and was well down the Neuse River when the sun came up. Made it to Belhaven in early afternoon. Very bouncy at the dock so decided to try for the Alligator River Marina just north of the Alligator River Swing Bridge. The river gave me uncomfortable trailing seas. Couldn't take my hands off the wheel for a few hours. I hate that. Very bouncy waiting for the bridge to open and then about a 10 minute roll with waves broadside (45 degree rolls) into the very protected and welcoming flat water inside the breakwater. Next day was a fairly good ride across the Albemarle Sound except for a hard rain and 20 mph wind but it was on my bow so not bad to handle all the way to Coijock Marina. Another agonizing decision to cross Currituck Sound. Wind was supposed to be 10 to 15 from my bow so I went for it. Ended up being 25 to 30. Not comfortable. I had my rain gear on and took bucked in the face for two hours. Much better when I got into the canals though. I decided to go through the lock at Greatbridge and then decided to head for the City of Hampton. It was supposed to be a window early so I was going to leave before light and get to Salt Ponds before the wind woke up. When I got to the Gilmetton Bridge I was a little late but unbelievably the bridge keeper held it for me. I wadthroigh the last bridge and on my way to the finish line. Just before I rounded the corner to head back into the 20 mph wind my transmission gave out. About 2 miles from Portmouth. I called the tug pushing the barge in front of me and he got out of my way. I called Towboat US and got them to send a boat. He told me where I could anchor out of the 54 ft channel I was in so I put out the jib and managed to tack into the wind to get to the anchorage.

So now I am sitting in the Portsmouth Boat Yard waiting to get my Dampening plates replaced. That 20 year old Hurth-50 transmission just couldn't take those 4000 plus miles I put on it going down and up the waterway twice. It almost did though. Anyway I have my car and I'm beginning to relax after that long trip back. I haven't looked at the weather or a chart for three days. I don't have to get up at four o'clock or lose sleep over wither or not I want to be pounded by waves and rain. Running the boat by myself the 950 miles from Veto Beach is brutal when you are by yourself. I'll get this fixed and start fixing a few things and shining Seaquel up getting ready to sell her sometimes in the next few months. I believe my boating adventures are over. 17 years is enough and I'm not getting any younger. Ha.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb