NORFOLK VA - THE GREYHOUND EXPERIENCE


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia » Norfolk
June 13th 2017
Published: June 15th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday 13th

Went cattle class to Norfolk VA from Springfield VA on the Greyhound, as Amtrak cancelled my train


The journey to cousins was a mission I tell you - I DO NOT recommend Greyhound - but I endured - it is an adventure after all . . Just not to be repeated any time soon or ever again!




The service was overbooked so 2 coaches were needed.

Over 1 and a half hours later the second one arrived whilst they hunted for another driver - who turned out not to exactly know his way. Anyway - upside was we got onto a cleaner coach with more space - some comfort then - and arrived seriously late

The Greyhound staff at Richmond were quite rude - especially on the Info Desk - easily the worst trained staff I've ever come across. Attitude attitude attitude and no clarity of expression - could hardly tell what was being said to me.



So I'm going to sound like a spoilt middle class consumer. So be it and so here goes:




Initially there no info whatsoever on what was happening - electronic display was
THE GREYHOUND EXPERIENCETHE GREYHOUND EXPERIENCETHE GREYHOUND EXPERIENCE

Williamsburg VA - one of the better terminals NOT owned by Greyhound themselves
totally blank. Out of three staff asked, one was prepared to even hazard a guess on what was happening and that turned out to be wrong.

A humbling snapshot of what the disenfranchised, and the budget adventure traveller have to cope with.




Its definitely a pleasure inflicted on the young, the poor and the stoic. I think I may have met a few of Donald's supporters and victims in the process - I had the good fortune to stand next to a guy who must have mistaken me for someone with a sympathetic ear, which in a very nasal pronunciation went as follows:

"I juust wanna get home and hold ma dodder. Hn, hn, hn. I haven't seen hur in faaav days. Hn, hn, hn. Ah juust wanna hold hur close to muy. Hn, hn, hn!" "they don't seem to vary effush-ient" "Hn, hn, hn!" "Al show them effush-ient" "Hn.hn, hn!" which was repeated with monotonous regularity for the whole time I was in that bloody queue! Being British of course I couldn't possibly tell him to shut the **** up!

OK I shouldn't mock - but . . . I almost prayed "Spock
HAVE TICKET - WILL NOT TRAVELHAVE TICKET - WILL NOT TRAVELHAVE TICKET - WILL NOT TRAVEL

Tickets - despite the bar code - have to be in printed form The coach driver let another passenger on without a printed ticket but with ID - but in the same breath decided I didn't qualify so I had to queue up and get a clearance slip from the most morose person I've ever come across
- Beam Me Up!"

I tried to offer to text his brother so he'd know not to collect him too early - which fell on deaf ears - he was half way through another mantra



Strangely once he got on the bus he was barely interested in me, being focussed instead on eating a pile of junk food.

Later cousin Avi collected me from the terminus - he's one of my cousins from Canada - we've never met before



He's an Associate Professor Communication & Theatre Arts & Director of the Institute for the Humanities at the Old Dominum University. Quite a few of the younger generation of (2nd) cousins are of that ilk. I don't even understand the the titles of his discourses - let alone the content.

We had lunch in a local restaurant called Chow - Food always a great leveller. In this case the focus is a really interesting starter of deep fried gherkin, cuts of ham, some piquant sauce and something that appeared to me a ball of chopped rice/egg/paprika/garlic (turns out Pimento cheese plate in fact), followed by clams cooked in white wine sauce with scallions (spring onions to you) washed
THE GREYHOUND EXPERIENCETHE GREYHOUND EXPERIENCETHE GREYHOUND EXPERIENCE

Richmond VA - where the the experience really bottomed out
now with a local brewed Pilsner. Avi had some amazing liver dish with an outer crusty coating - Balsamic and garlic fried chicken livers

Liver made interesting enough for a Glas-Weegie to eat?



Thats quite an achievement I think!

Later we collected his very sweet and precocious twins, meeting his in-laws in the process, and took them to the local botanical gardens.





CHOW





https://pilotonline.com/life/flavor/restaurants/norfolk-s-chow-restaurant-may-have-you-thinking-of-grandma/article_f099202a-fe69-5b18-a3dd-486d519a463a.html

https://www.facebook.com/pg/ChowRestaurant/photos/?ref=page_internal

Botanicals




http://norfolkbotanicalgarden.org

The gardens were a treat - a combination of wet woodland and grassland with interactive stuff for the children (and adults it has to be said)

Marred I am afraid by the authorities having the bright idea of building the local airport RIGHT next to it, and I mean right next

Dinner was provided by Nikki - Avi's wife - on the BBQ - but healthy marinated salmon and char grilled vegetable you would not approve Ray ....


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

CHOW CAFECHOW CAFE
CHOW CAFE

Shop front
CHOW CAFE, Norfolk VACHOW CAFE, Norfolk VA
CHOW CAFE, Norfolk VA

Balsamic and garlic fried chicken livers, Pimento cheese plate deep fried gherkin, piquant sauce and other bits
CHOW CAFE, Norfolk VACHOW CAFE, Norfolk VA
CHOW CAFE, Norfolk VA

Sauteed clam in pasta
HEDY AND ESTELLEHEDY AND ESTELLE
HEDY AND ESTELLE

But which way round?


Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0555s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb