So Much to See and to Do in Northern Vermont


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Vermont » Waterbury
September 25th 2012
Published: November 2nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Fields Amid Rolling Hills Blanketed By Brilliant Blue SkiesFields Amid Rolling Hills Blanketed By Brilliant Blue SkiesFields Amid Rolling Hills Blanketed By Brilliant Blue Skies

On The Way To Cabot Creamery – Cabot VT
My third good weather day in northern New Hampshire was the day of my departure. The bright side of that coin is that I didn’t have to pull the Pilgrim on rain-slickened roadways. Lancaster NH is located on the shores of the Connecticut River so Vermont is only a bridge away. The short drive to Duxbury Country Store & Campground in Duxbury VT on Tuesday, September 11, 2012 was uneventful although I couldn’t help but think of the events that transpired eleven years earlier and of the monument I had seen in Eastport ME about a month ago. It was dedicated to Angel Juarbe, Jr., the New York City firefighter who won a reality show grand prize and lost his life in the World Trade Center attack a week after the airing of the final episode.

In spite of the melancholy aura of that infamous anniversary, I was in an especially good mood. My cousin, Pat, and his wife Allison were east-bound at about the same latitude as I was westbound, and we were going to meet at the RV park. My trip was uneventful until I arrived at the campground and found one side of the Pilgrim slideout wouldn’t
Is This New England Or What?Is This New England Or What?Is This New England Or What?

Town Meetinghouse - Strafford VT
deploy. I managed to get it out far enough to open the bathroom door but didn’t want to fully extend it manually until a serviceman could determine the best course of action. The RV park owner suggested an on-site RV serviceman who “does all the work on my mother’s RV.” There is no better recommendation than that! I made an appointment with the serviceman for Thursday afternoon. To jump ahead, a sheer pin had sheered and needed to be replaced ($90.00 total charge).

About an hour after my arrival and while I was in the middle of getting my Pilgrim problem managed, Pat and Allison arrived only to find they somehow had lost their propane tank and regulator assembly. They remember hearing a strange noise not too far from the RV park that probably accompanied the event, so they decided to return to the general location to look for the lost equipment. After searching unsuccessfully for several minutes, they returned to the RV park where Pat decided he would deal with his problem in Maine where Allison’s family resides. If it isn’t six of one thing, it’s half a dozen of something else!

Who’s hungry? Let’s eat! We
Photos And A Timeline Fill One WallPhotos And A Timeline Fill One WallPhotos And A Timeline Fill One Wall

Vermont State Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Sharon VT
asked the neighbor for a recommendation and went to dinner. Upon returning to the park, we enjoy an evening of chit-chat. In the morning, we passed the time of day for the better part of two hours before they departed for Maine. Normally, they would have been in Maine at the same time I was; however, a long story (that found the cutting room floor) changed their plans for 2012. It was good to see them!

Wednesday afternoon found me driving into Montpelier, the state capital, for a stop at the visitor center and a familiarization drive about town before I headed east on VT 302 - the William Scott Memorial Highway. (The story of William Scott, the “most notable” private of the Civil War, is interesting trivia.) At the junction of VT 302 and I-91, I headed southwest to White River Junction. There, I turned northwest on I-89. Both stretches of Interstate are designated scenic highways, which they are; however, a second reason for my excursion was to visit the Vermont State Vietnam Veterans Memorial housed in the visitor welcome center near Sharon VT. With the dedication of the memorial on October 30, 1982, Vermont became the first state to so honor those who served in Vietnam. Thank you!

The memorial is not just housed in the visitor center; it is totally assimilated into the facility. Outside there is a flag-lined walkway leading to a well-done memorial with an eternal flame and a stone plaque inscribed with (arguably) the most oft-quoted portion of Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address. Inside the visitor center, a placard honors Vermont’s five POW/MIAs (including one Medal of Honor recipient); a wall-size billboard displays numerous period photos and a time-line of U.S. involvement in the war; a large map depicts events and troop movements that occurred during the conflict; and a centrally located octagonal monument lists alphabetically the names of Vermont’s native sons claimed by the war. Above the centerpiece, eight posters are suspended with sixteen Vietnam era pictures of (presumably) Vermont native sons. The memorial is very well done, and its placement in a high profile location is commendable.

After the RV serviceman had repaired the Pilgrim on Thursday, I had enough time remaining to visit nine nearby covered bridges. Reports of the flooding caused by the remnants of hurricane Irene in 2011 left me with the impression that half New England’s covered bridges had been lost. That’s when I made plans to visit those “few” remaining vestiges of rural Americana during my 2012 visit. I subsequently learned that only a handful of bridges had been destroyed and that my impression was quite blown out of proportion; however, I am hooked on covered bridges anyway and continued with my plans to see these intriguing artifacts.

During my two-week stay in northern Vermont, I stopped at 41 covered bridges. In this blog, I will write about those that hold distinctiveness and will include some of the better photos I captured; however, I will not describe the details of the more mundane visits. Most of my covered bridge stops were incorporated into visits to other attractions or into drives along posted scenic routes. To me, the benefit of driving through the countryside en route to a covered bridge is just as exciting as locating and exploring the covered bridge itself. I saw a shirt in Mystic CT proclaiming, “The journey is the destination” and couldn’t help but buy that public expression of one of my new credos. Besides, I was hoping to come upon a moose on one of those back roads!

Permit me
A Compact Cars Uses Over Half The RoadwayA Compact Cars Uses Over Half The RoadwayA Compact Cars Uses Over Half The Roadway

VT 108 Through Smugglers Notch - Stowe VT
to take a brief aside for Covered Bridge Hunting 101 – Here’s what I’ve learned (and much of this info can be applied to visiting other types of attractions as well): Several web sites provide GPS coordinates for covered bridges as well as lighthouses, waterfalls, etc. I use Google Earth to mark and identify the location of each attraction. When all attractions in a general area have been labeled, I can plan the sequence so I’m not doing a lot of backtracking. For me, this works MUCH better than trying to follow a vague and/or incomplete and/or inaccurate set of text instructions, and the coordinate dataset in my GPS is much more accurate than the address dataset. Unless somebody makes a data entry error, there is no room for interpretation and the GPS has gotten me to the destination every time.

The next day, Friday, I headed north on scenic VT 100 to Stowe – a popular tourist destination and ski resort area in the winter. Turning west on VT 108, I passed through Smugglers Notch State Park and Smugglers Notch. The roadway is too narrow in the notch (called a gap in Tennessee and a pass in Colorado)
Curtain CallCurtain CallCurtain Call

Hyde Park Opera House – Hyde Park VT
to “earn” a painted center line or “lane separator” line marking the middle of the road. There is adequate room for a car and a motorcycle or bicycle if both are careful! In Jeffersonville, I turned east on VT 15 towards Hyde Park where I found the Hyde Park Opera House. Luck would have it that the interior was being prepared for an art showing that was to open that evening. The gentleman preparing the facility was delighted that I had stopped and enthusiastically showed me the historic structure and provided an interesting narrative of its history.

My next stop was a unique covered bridge near Wolcott VT. The Fisher Railroad Covered Bridge is one of only two remaining covered railroad bridges in Vermont and is the only one with a full length cupola that allows for escape of the smoke emitted from the stacks of the steam locomotives. This now-abandoned 1908 bridge carried the St. Johnsbury & Lamoille County Railroad over the Lamoille River until the late twentieth century; however, a scheduled destruction/replacement of the bridge In 1968 was averted by the addition of steel beam reinforcements. Next to the bridge is a park where I took my
Little Remains Of The Abandoned Railroad LineLittle Remains Of The Abandoned Railroad LineLittle Remains Of The Abandoned Railroad Line

Fisher Railroad Covered Bridge – Wolcott VT
lunch break.

After lunch, I continued eastbound on VT 15 until I reached Hardwick where I turned north on scenic VT 14 toward Irasburg. As I passed through Albany VT, I spotted the monument to local veterans and stopped to pay my respects. When I reached Irasburg, I plugged Island Pond into the GPS as a destination and was taken on some roads that didn’t merit inclusion in my atlas. Some were dirt, and most were in very good condition. Along the way and in the middle of nowhere, I stopped at a vegetable stand to buy some sweet corn and got the last three ears. VT routes 105, 102 and 114 form a circuit around the Silvio O. Conte National Fish and Wildlife Refuge. I had been told “The Northeast Kingdom" (often referred to by Vermonters as "The Kingdom") was almost a sure bet for finding a moose, and, thus, was the primary objective of my trip to the area. Okay, I did stop to check out five conventional covered bridges along the way and, by the way, didn’t see a moose. Woe is me!

On Sunday morning, September 16, I set out for the President Chester A. Arthur State Historic Site in Fairfield VT - the birthplace of the 21st President of the United States - with several stops before and after. I headed west on US 2 to Richmond VT and the Old Round Church. The facility was built in 1812-13 to be the Town Meeting Hall and place of worship for the members of five Protestant denominations. The Old Round Church is not really round but rather is a hexakaidecagon (no, I do not remember that from geometry but rather learned something today that I will forget tomorrow) and is believed to be the sole surviving example of an early 19th-century 16-sided wooden meetinghouse. The docent was well versed in the history of the facility, and the craftsmanship (both the original and the restoration) are awesome and definitely worthy of a thirty minute stop. FYI, plans are underway for a year-long series of community events to celebrate the 200th birthday of the Old Round Church in 2013.

From Richmond, I headed north on VT 15 towards the Old Red Mill in Jericho VT. The mill site history is long and storied. The exterior of the former Chittenden Mill #2 is quite photogenic, and the lower level houses the Historical Society Museum and a craft shop. Original milling machinery and the products of Jericho's numerous water powered mills are on display, and one area of the museum archives the career and works of Wilson A. "Snowflake" Bentley (1865-1931). Bentley was a self-educated farmer who pioneered work in the area of photomicrography and was most noted for his extensive work with snowflakes. By adapting a microscope to a bellows camera (and years of trial and error); he was, in 1885, the first person to photograph a single snow crystal. Bentley went on to capture more than 5000 snowflakes during his lifetime. His snow crystal photomicrographs were acquired by colleges and universities throughout the world, and he published many articles for magazines and journals including Scientific American and National Geographic. The Old Red Mill is a three-for-the-stop-of-one attraction and definitely is worth an hour of your time.

The President Chester A. Arthur State Historic Site in Fairfield VT is a 1953 replica of the "birthplace of the 21st President of the United States." Arthur's father was born in Ireland and emigrated first to Canada and then to Vermont. Arthur's father was a Free Will Baptist minister, and his views as an outspoken
Replica Of The Home Where The Future President Live As An InfantReplica Of The Home Where The Future President Live As An InfantReplica Of The Home Where The Future President Live As An Infant

President Chester A. Arthur State Historic Site - Fairfield VT
abolitionist made him unpopular with some factions of his congregations and contributed to the family's frequent moves. In fact, when Arthur was nominated for the Vice Presidency, his political opponents contended he had been born in Ireland. Does this sound familiar? When that failed, they charged he had been born in Canada. Does this still sound familiar? When that failed, they charged that his sister was Monica Lewinsky. Last week, I encountered a young man who wanted me to sign a petition that would open an investigation which would once and for all determine the place of Arthur’s birth – STOP IT, LARRY!

A granite monument to commemorate Arthur’s birthplace was dedicated in 1903 and presented to the State of Vermont. At that time, it was believed this was the location of the birthplace of Chester Arthur. Indeed, it was the location of a parsonage where the Arthur family moved after it was completed in 1830. The confusion about his birthplace stems from the fact that Arthur told people that he was born in 1830 instead of the actual date in 1829. Given the parsonage was completed in 1830; his assumed birthplace was at the new parsonage. The building
I Believe This Is The First Wooden Silo I Have Ever SeenI Believe This Is The First Wooden Silo I Have Ever SeenI Believe This Is The First Wooden Silo I Have Ever Seen

Round Wooden Silo - Near Enosburg Falls VT
where he was born actually was a primitive cabin in the village of Fairfield.

In 1950 the State of Vermont purchased the land around the monument, and the present building was recreated using an old photograph of the house as a guide. The President Arthur State Historic Site, indeed, is a 1953 recreation of the second house in which Arthur lived as an infant. The building is not adorned with the “period furnishings” so often seen in such attractions, but rather contains numerous easels outlining Arthur’s life and his presidency. A short distance to the northwest stands the North Fairfield Baptist Church. The church where the future president’s father was called to preach was replaced by this structure in the 1840s. The church, which has never had electricity, was donated to the State of Vermont in 1970. It is often used for memorial services and weddings and is open to the public for viewing during the hours the Historic Site is open.

I made a brief stop at the Missisquoi Valley Rail Trail Old Railroad Bridge in Sheldon Junction VT to have lunch along the river. After I resumed my journey, I happened upon the first wooden silo
Fall Foliage Is Beginning To AppearFall Foliage Is Beginning To AppearFall Foliage Is Beginning To Appear

Moss Glen Falls - Stowe VT
I remember ever having seen and then continued to the Highgate Falls Parabolic Truss Bridge in Highgate Falls VT. I included this attraction simply because I saw the identification marker on the state highway map and wanted to find out what a parabolic bridge was all about. “The journey is the destination!” From Highgate Falls, I “cover bridged” my way back towards Waterbury and stopped at eight more conventional covered bridges before the lack of daylight made continuing the day’s adventure impractical. On Monday, I resumed my aborted Sunday itinerary and visited six more covered bridges at the Waterbury end of Sunday’s loop.

Moderate, steady rainfall started on Monday evening and kept me home all day Tuesday; but Wednesday, September 19, 2012 dawned a beautiful day. When I went into the campground office to pay for my fuel; I asked about nearby, easy-to-reach waterfalls and was told of two. Heading south on VT 100 first brought me to a “turtle jam!” I asked myself, “Why is this guy stopping 200 feet short of the stop sign?” Soon the turtle emerged from in front of his vehicle. With the fast-moving turtle (obviously in feet per minute) safely across the highway, I continued and soon discovered the roadside Moss Glen Falls. This is one rural attraction where I was not alone. Only a couple of cars were there when I arrived; but by the time I left (about fifteen minutes), there was nary a parking spot in the pullover or along the highway.

Further south on VT 100, I came to Hancock VT where I turned west on VT 125 and entered the Green Mountain National Forest. In only a few miles I came to the parking area for Texas Falls. Where Moss Glen Falls exited a narrow chute and dispersed over a rocky drop, Texas Falls enters a series of narrow canyons and plunges over a series of cascades. The power and awesomeness is difficult to describe and virtually impossible to completely capture in a photograph. The “no swimming” signs were worthy of regard as being washed through the rocky chasms would lead to certain injury and probable death. I can only recommend visiting these two waterfalls after substantial rains or (I’m sure) during spring snow melt, but they provide great places to take a brief respite regardless of stream water volume.

From Texas Falls, I headed east
Some Covered Bridges Are Matters Of Community PrideSome Covered Bridges Are Matters Of Community PrideSome Covered Bridges Are Matters Of Community Pride

Church Street Covered Bridge - Waterville VT
across the Green Mountains to the Porter Music Box Museum in Randolph VT. I was told the founder of the Porter Music Box Company, Dwight Porter, seldom does tours anymore; but, as luck would have it, he had just started one of those rare tours. He readily welcomed me and a couple to join in and then took the three of us back to the beginning to show us what we had missed. He was delightful, and the music boxes were truly pieces of art in their own right; however, this was merely a showing of his private collection. He offered an interesting history of each of the pieces, but there was no general history of the music box or of its evolution. I was told the museum was no longer financially self-sustaining and would be closing after the 2012 season.

My final stop of the day found me travelling north to Cabot VT and the Cabot Creamery. This facility only produces yellow cheese. An introductory video is offered which provides a great foundation for the factory tour. As a package, the attraction offers a wealth of information about cheese making and provides some information about Vermont agriculture in
Just As Magnificent Outside As InsideJust As Magnificent Outside As InsideJust As Magnificent Outside As Inside

Vermont State Capital - Montpelier VT
general. After the tour, the sampling room gives visitors the opportunity to, ta-dah, sample (and, of course, purchase) a wide variety of Cabot products. Worthwhile, but it probably doesn’t merit your “A list.”

Thursday found me driving into Montpelier to take a tour of the Vermont State Capitol and to visit the Vermont Historical Society Museum. Montpelier is the smallest city to serve as the capital of a U.S. state, but the capitol portrays anything but a diminutive presence. This bold granite structure is canvassed before a tree-lined mountain and its gold leaf dome is virtually impossible to miss while passing through the city. My tour guide offered an interesting and entertaining narrative about various aspects of the building, its history and its contemporary role in the community. This, the third capitol (the first two were destroyed by fire), was first occupied in 1859; and a restoration was begun in the early 1980s.

Vermont's reputation for popular government is represented by the State House's nickname "the People's House." While its primary use is as the house of the legislative branch of Vermont government, it has from its beginnings also functioned as a living museum and a state cultural
The Battle Of Cedar Creek – October 19, 1864The Battle Of Cedar Creek – October 19, 1864The Battle Of Cedar Creek – October 19, 1864

Vermont State Capital - Montpelier VT
facility. The building is open to visitors with remarkably few restrictions whether the legislature is in session or not, and the large Representatives Hall is used for evening concerts named "Farmers Nights" during winter months. During warmer weather, the public lawn on the south side is used for a variety of concerts and provides space for local residents to sit, eat, and play sports. Quilts, ceramics, photographs and paintings by Vermont citizens periodically adorn the building's corridors, committee and caucus rooms and dining room. Additionally, the public lawn and steps of the portico serve as a well-used platform for peaceful demonstrations, to hold press conferences given by various official and non-official groups and to formally welcome official visitors to the State of Vermont. Time well spent.

The Vermont Historical Society Museum is across the lawn from the capitol and traces Vermont history from the days of indigenous habitation. Exhibits explore the development of Vermont culture and its resulting institutions. The state motto, “Freedom and Unity,” was adopted in 1778 to remind citizens to strive for a balance between individual freedom and the common good. After the French and Indian War, a dispute emerged between New Hampshire and New York
The Life Of The Native Peoples Is ExaminedThe Life Of The Native Peoples Is ExaminedThe Life Of The Native Peoples Is Examined

Vermont Historical Society Museum - Montpelier VT
over what today is Vermont. Deeds to that frontier territory were issued to settlers by both states. The dispute turned ugly after the King of England ruled in favor of the “aristocratic Yorkers” in 1764. Seething with feelings of betrayal, Vermonters were quick to join the move for independence; and Ethan Allen’s Green Mountain Boys and the Council of Safety emerged in response to a perceived need for protection from the Yorkers. Over the years, those ill feelings have subsided and most Vermonters believe everybody should own half a dozen Yorkers.

Other stories of early Vermont enrich the visitor’s appreciation of the state – the significance of the arrival of the first printing press; the many faces of Ethan Allen that have been developed from written and first-hand descriptions augmented by sometimes vivid artistic interpretation (no known painting, sketch or sculpture of a living Allen exists); Vermont’s declaration as a free and independent state; its fleeting consideration of annexation to Canada; the smuggling of goods to British-ruled Canada in violation of the Embargo Act of 1808; and Vermont’s role in the War of 1812. The museum is very well done and is a must see for all who want
He Lived Softly But Carried A Big StickHe Lived Softly But Carried A Big StickHe Lived Softly But Carried A Big Stick

Ethan Allen Homestead Museum - Burlington VT
to understand Vermont.

My third stop of the day was at Peacham VT. I had been told by the attendant at the visitor center in Montpelier that Peacham was the soul of Vermont and that, if I had ever seen a magazine cover picture depicting Vermont, I probably had seen a picture of Peacham. Although Peacham is a nice little community, his endorsement was grossly overstated. I did find the Peacham Veterans Memorial and stopped to pay my respects.

I made a long list of attractions for Friday, September 21 and planned to see what time allowed. My first stop was the Ethan Allen Homestead Museum in Burlington VT. Ethan Allen, born January 21, 1738, was a farmer, businessman, land speculator, patriot, Revolutionary War hero, philosopher and writer. He probably is best known for his role as one of the founders of Vermont, for the formation of the Green Mountain Boys and for the capture of Fort Ticonderoga early in the Revolutionary War. Allen had a frontier upbringing in rural Connecticut but also received an education that included some philosophical teachings. In the late 1760s, he began purchasing New Hampshire land grants and became embroiled in the legal
It Took Some Massive Trees To Supply Those Floor PlanksIt Took Some Massive Trees To Supply Those Floor PlanksIt Took Some Massive Trees To Supply Those Floor Planks

Ethan Allen Homestead Museum - Burlington VT
disputes over the territory. Legal setbacks led to the formation of the Green Mountain Boys, whom Allen led in a campaign of intimidation and property destruction to drive Yorkers from the Grants.

When the Revolutionary War broke out, Allen and the Boys seized the opportunity and captured Fort Ticonderoga in May 1775. In September 1775, Allen led a failed attempt on Montreal that resulted in his capture by British authorities. He was first imprisoned aboard Royal Navy ships, then paroled in New York City and finally released in a prisoner exchange in 1778. After his release, Allen returned to the Grants - which had declared its own independence in 1777 - and resumed political activism in the territory including Vermont's efforts to gain statehood. Allen wrote accounts of his exploits in the war and philosophical essays relating to the politics of Vermont's formation that were widely read well into the 1800s. Allen suffered a massive stroke on February 12, 1789 and died in his home (the Ethan Allen Homestead Museum) several hours later. This attraction is interesting and informative for those willing to invest some time, and I believe it could be successfully argued that to read of Ethan Allen’s life
The Teddy Bear HospitalThe Teddy Bear HospitalThe Teddy Bear Hospital

Vermont Teddy Bear Co - Shelburne VT
is to read of Vermont’s early history.

On my way to the Vermont Teddy Bear Company in Shelburne VT, I happened upon the Shelburne Museum Covered Bridge which stands on the grounds of the Shelburne Museum adjacent to US 7. I had to stop for a photo because this bridge is a rare surviving example of a two-lane covered bridge. The 168-foot bridge was built in 1845 to span the Lamoille River in Cambridge VT and has two vehicle lanes and a footpath. As with covered bridges in general, the roof protects it from severe weather and adds to the structural stability; and the enclosed sides isolate farm animals from distracting views. The bridge was dismantled and moved to the Museum in 1949 where it now provides pedestrian passage over a pond.

The Vermont Teddy Bear Company, also in Shelburne, is unique – thus its inclusion on my list. The company boasts of making the only teddy bear guaranteed for life without any fine print. Encounters with destructive dogs and devastating lawn mowers are covered for life. That leads me to wonder – whose life? If great, grandpa buys the bear for junior – hmmm! Regardless, the Firefighter
One Could Get Up Close To The ActionOne Could Get Up Close To The ActionOne Could Get Up Close To The Action

UVM Morgan Horse Farm - Weybridge VT
Bear cost $79.99. I suppose that’s not exorbitant in light of the guarantee. The tour was interesting. I would say it’s a must see for the kids (but only if there are sufficient funds to purchase a bear - from $49.99) and is worthy of a one-hour stop for adults.

My next stop was the University of Vermont Morgan Horse Farm in Weybridge VT. The U.S. government determined the Morgan was a "superior Calvary mount" and established a breeding program at the University in 1905. Joseph Battell donated the facility to the government in 1907, and the U.S. Government Morgan Horse Farm was created. Let me see if I have this correct - when horses were on the verge of being replaced by motorized conveyances in the early 1900s; our cutting-edge, foresighted government ESTABLISHED a horse breeding program! And all this while I believed governmental ineptitude germinated in my lifetime! The University assumed ownership of the facility in 1951. The tour was interesting and merits a stop for those interested in horses. To many it would hold less value.

I had made Rutland my southern terminus because of the scenic routes (US 7 southbound and VT 100 northbound)
All The Artifacts Are Well IdentifiedAll The Artifacts Are Well IdentifiedAll The Artifacts Are Well Identified

New England Maple Museum - Pittsford VT
and because five conventional covered bridges are located in the Pittsford area that I could add on if sufficient daylight allowed. One of my planned stops en route to Rutland included the Pulp Mill Covered Bridge in Middlebury VT because it, like the unplanned Shelburne Museum Covered Bridge, is a “double-barreled structure” or two lane bridge. It was undergoing unexpected renovation; was cordoned off and inaccessible; and was quite the photographic “ugly duckling.” I hope to return to both of those rare pieces of Americana some day.

My last truly planned stop of the day was further south on scenic US 7 at the New England Maple Museum in Pittsford. Unfortunately, closing time was looming when I arrived but I paid the modest admission fee anyway. What I learned was that the museum belongs on the “to do” list of those wanting to feel the pulse of Vermont. Skimming over the exhibits and placards told me there is a lot of history in the industry, and the museum merits my return. I continued south on US 7 to Rutland where I caught US 4 east to its junction with VT 100. On the way past Moss Glen Falls, about
Relatively Small But Very Ornate HomeRelatively Small But Very Ornate HomeRelatively Small But Very Ornate Home

Justin Smith Morrill State Historic Site - Strafford VT
56 hours after my first visit, I stopped to take a comparative photo. Without recent rain, the fall is much less impressive.

Saturday, September 22 again found me on the covered bridge scenic back roads with the furthest attraction being the Justin Smith Morrill State Historic Site in Strafford VT. Justin Smith Morrill (1810-1898) was one of the founders of the Republican Party and was a US Representative (1855–1867) and a US Senator (1867–1898) most widely remembered today for the Morrill Land-Grant Colleges Act that established federal funding for many of the nation’s public colleges and universities. I think I need to repeat that - he was one of the founders of the Republican Party. A supporter of educational funding at the federal level - I guess a hundred fifty years changes everything!

Morrill himself never attended a university and was self-educated for the most part. Reading always was a passion for Morrill, and the library in his home attests to that characteristic. The barn, which houses several displays highlighting his life and accomplishments, has a section devoted to library topics. In addition to the barn, an ice house explores the function of and the need for an
And, Of Course, A LibraryAnd, Of Course, A LibraryAnd, Of Course, A Library

Justin Smith Morrill State Historic Site - Strafford VT
ice house in the day. All of the structures are interesting and well-maintained, and the guided tour of the house was well-done and interesting. Most might find this attraction very ho-hum; however, I was compelled to add it to my list because of Morrill’s contribution to higher education.

I suppose driving past the Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream Factory almost every day without stopping for a tour at some point during a two-week stay would teeter on the brink of sacrilege. So, on Monday I made a special trip to the factory to avert stoning or some other such persecution by those who might learn of my transgression. A small $3.00 fee is assessed for the tour, but a “one scoop” cup of the flavor of the day is offered after the tour. The tour begins with an introductory movie and moves to a glassed-in viewing area. The viewing area is poised above the production floor so most of the activities below are readily visible while a “guided” walk-through of the manufacturing process is aired on several large TV monitors mounted above the viewing windows. The tour is geared to children but is extremely well done and interesting for
In This Village, There Are Three Covered Bridges Within About A Quarter Mile Of Each OtherIn This Village, There Are Three Covered Bridges Within About A Quarter Mile Of Each OtherIn This Village, There Are Three Covered Bridges Within About A Quarter Mile Of Each Other

From Station Covered Bridge Looking Toward Lower Covered Bridge – Northfield VT
adults as well.

My two week stay in northern Vermont was action packed. On the few days the weather was less than optimal, I welcomed the day of rest. Travelling the back roads to several of the covered bridges I visited offered me an opportunity to feel at one with the Vermont experience. Even for those with no interest in covered bridges or scenic drives, there are plenty of activities to prevent boredom for a week. For those with no interest in historical attractions like the Ethan Allen homestead and the Old Round Church or with no desire to visit state capitols there remains a variety of activities in northern Vermont. For those who find no fascination in unique attractions like Vermont Teddy Bear Company or Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream Factory… well, maybe you should just save your money and stay home. Personally, I’m already making plans to return so I can visit the attractions I missed and do some hiking. My next stop is Lake Placid NY where I hope to see some spectacular fall foliage.


Additional photos below
Photos: 76, Displayed: 42


Advertisement

POWs And MIAs Also Get Special Recognition InsidePOWs And MIAs Also Get Special Recognition Inside
POWs And MIAs Also Get Special Recognition Inside

Vermont State Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Sharon VT
Walkway Leading To The Outdoor MemorialWalkway Leading To The Outdoor Memorial
Walkway Leading To The Outdoor Memorial

Vermont State Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Sharon VT
The Button In The Center Of the Circle Remembers POWsThe Button In The Center Of the Circle Remembers POWs
The Button In The Center Of the Circle Remembers POWs

Vermont State Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Sharon VT
Eternal Flame At The End Of The WalkwayEternal Flame At The End Of The Walkway
Eternal Flame At The End Of The Walkway

Vermont State Vietnam Veterans Memorial - Sharon VT
You Can’t See This Vermonticana From The InterstateYou Can’t See This Vermonticana From The Interstate
You Can’t See This Vermonticana From The Interstate

Roadside Folk Art Along VT 100 Near Warren VT
Little Traffic On This Country LaneLittle Traffic On This Country Lane
Little Traffic On This Country Lane

Pine Brook Covered Bridge - Waitsville VT
Many Covered Bridges Pass Over Picturesque StreamsMany Covered Bridges Pass Over Picturesque Streams
Many Covered Bridges Pass Over Picturesque Streams

Upper Covered Bridge – Northfield VT
Some Leaves Are Beginning To Show ColorSome Leaves Are Beginning To Show Color
Some Leaves Are Beginning To Show Color

Red Covered Bridge – Morristown VT
There Are Lots Of Neat Discoveries On The Back RoadsThere Are Lots Of Neat Discoveries On The Back Roads
There Are Lots Of Neat Discoveries On The Back Roads

Finding Covered Bridges En Route To Island Pond VT
It’s Good To See So Many Saved Historical StructuresIt’s Good To See So Many Saved Historical Structures
It’s Good To See So Many Saved Historical Structures

Hyde Park Opera House – Hyde Park VT
Granite Notches Provide Great SceneryGranite Notches Provide Great Scenery
Granite Notches Provide Great Scenery

Near Smugglers Notch State Park VT
Superior CraftsmanshipSuperior Craftsmanship
Superior Craftsmanship

Old Round Church - Richmond VT
No Looking Down On The PreacherNo Looking Down On The Preacher
No Looking Down On The Preacher

Old Round Church - Richmond VT


11th November 2012

Larry. you do such a great job of including us in your adventures. Love the pictures and the narrative. Thanks for the trip through Vermont.

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.037s; cc: 14; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb