Two weeks to departure


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader
United States' flag
North America » United States » Vermont » Brattleboro
June 20th 2009
Saved: April 27th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Graham and friends gradGraham and friends gradGraham and friends grad

Graham and friends at 8th grade graduation
It's been a few years since my last travel blog (U.K. in 2007). I'm leaving for Ireland in two weeks, so I'm reviewing the blog posting process. If you are still subscribed to my blog from 2007, feel free to unsubscribe now, or stay on and you'll get notices of my postings over the next six weeks. I hope to post a few times per week. Feel free to share my blog address and/or posts with other friends and family.

I have a lot to do to get ready to leave. I have to pack my clothes and gear to be away from home for 6 weeks. I need to be ready for any kind of weather. Mostly it should be in the 60's and 70's, so my uniform will probably be capri pants, a T-shirt, and a cardigan. But if it gets warmer, I'll have a few sleeveless tops; if colder, long pants and a fleece. I think I'm set for rain gear, but haven't decided yet on shoes. I'm trying to stick with just three pairs....tough decision.

I also need to leave the house in good order for Bob to be solo parent for three weeks, AND
Rhys and LoganRhys and LoganRhys and Logan

Rhys and his friend, Logan
for him to be able to leave the house "swap-ready" when he and the three boys leave, with all their gear packed for our London weeks. Lots and lots of lists, needless to say. I also need to be somewhat ready to begin teaching in the fall, as I'll only have two weeks left of summer when we return.

For travel knitting, I'm focusing on socks (toe-up.) I'll be sure to post my progress on these. I've resigned myself to not being able to take my knitting on the plane. I sense that Aer Lingus is particularly firm on "no knitting needles in carry-on luggage." I couldn't bear to have to give up my needles if they want to confiscate them at security.

This week was exciting with Graham's 8th grade graduation (see photo). Rhys finished third grade on a good note, and he made the Small Fry baseball all-star team, so he'll ride the All-Star float in the July 4th parade. Clark did well on his finals, played in the band at high school graduation, and has a full schedule of graduation parties this weekend for his friends who are seniors.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


COMING SOON HOUSE ADVERTISING ads_leader_blog_bottom

Clark BaccalaureateClark Baccalaureate
Clark Baccalaureate

Clark and friends at Baccalaureate
Clark and friends before promClark and friends before prom
Clark and friends before prom

Clark and friends before the prom
Shoulder NarrowsShoulder Narrows
Shoulder Narrows

Clark with his accapella group, Shoulder Narrows
WWKIPWWKIP
WWKIP

Me, with knitting friends, on World Wide Knitting in Public Day


Comments only available on published blogs

21st June 2009

can't wait
I'm really looking forward to hearing and seeing more details as you head out. Nice job on inserting the pictures! Ruth

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0392s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb