Zion


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Zion National Park
October 25th 2007
Published: October 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

10-25-2007 Zion-

What a trip. About 1 hr from Dave and Eileen's place. Nice scenic
drive...I had no idea what was in store! We got to the bottom of this
mountain and Dave said, we will be at the top soon. ??? Where is the
funicular? Where is the gondola? I think Dave thought I was kidding.
Nope, not kidding. Seriously? We are going to scale Mt Everest here?
Holy crap. So, off we start. After about 1 hour of me chasing them,
they took off ahead. No way I was keeping their pace. So that left
me to hike up but not pass out. I think Dave got nervous when I told
him my heart rate monitor said 192. Incredible views. Things you
just can't see or appreciate from the ground or from a gondola. This
was the real deal. 2200 ft of elevation we climbed. Wow! 4 miles in
and 4 out. I probably made it 3 miles in. But on the way down, I
took Hidden Canyon which was also pretty amazing. I basically hit
every switchback known to man. One I made it down and realized I was
alive and well, it hit me. That was amazing! I only wished I made it
to the very top. Of course, then we read the map (after that fact)
and it says that hike should take 5 hours (they did it in three and
were psyched to have completely it so quickly...thanks.) It also was
rated for "strenuous"-hardest hike they have. And it had a cliff fall
warning. Great beginner hiking trip no? Well, I'm glad we did it.
After that, nothing really seems impossible. 2000 calories. Yee haw.

Trialed called Overlook Point.

Then we went to see Thriller at the outdoor amphitheater. Very cool theater.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0211s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 998.4kb