Day 12 July 17/14 2nd Day in Salt Lake City, Utah 3370 kms


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Salt Lake City
July 17th 2014
Published: July 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Here we are in Salt Lake City. We enjoyed a day off the bikes so that we could play tourist around the town. Not sure what a typical tourist does in Salt Lake. What we did do was ride the light rail out and back on a couple of different routes just to get the lay of the land. We walked around downtown, did a little shopping, coffees, beers, burgers and then……….we did two things I never thought I would ever do. First: we went to watch the “Mormon Tabernacle Choir” practice. For all you sport fans out there, yes I said practice, if you can believe it!!!!!! The second thing I never thought was: I actually enjoyed it (funny thing is, I no longer want any coffee or beer). That will pass by morning.

As there are a few people that followed our blog last year, this may sound repetitive but I have to explain just how long it takes to get going in the mornings. Even after 9 weeks last year and a couple of other week long trips, I still can’t believe how long it takes. So I have to share what actually happened yesterday morning. Helli and I both had to laugh at me in particular.

First it is up and grab coffees and toast in the hotel.

We have nothing packed because we have to shower and then pack toiletries and clothes after breakfast, usually what we wore the night before. So now we change into riding gear. Put clothes and toiletries into luggage and lock it - after I look for keys to the luggage.

Second luggage case holds the rain gear and the laptop (because they fit together). So I book a hotel for Salt Lake, put the laptop into case and go to lock it. Can’t find the key because I left it in first case with my clothes. Find keys, lock case.

Third case is still not packed because it has all the tools, extra gloves, spare parts and it’s where I keep my runners and sandals. So pack sandals from morning and evening attire. Lock the third case, now I know to look at second case for the keys. Getting smarter.

Because it rain so hard the previous day, I forgot to spray oil on the chains. So open third case grab the oil and run to bikes for 2 minute lube. Back to the room, repack third case.

Back to the bike with the third case, tank bag, lock them on. Back to the room.

Helli tells me she has a bit of a headache and needs Advil. They are in my toiletries, so unlock case unpack to find Advil , repack, relock.

Now we need ice for our camel backs and the cooler with extra water. Three trips to ice machine.

It’s now hot!!!!! I realize I forgot sunscreen. Yes it is in my first case with toiletries……UNPACK…REPACK !

Two more cases to the bikes. Back to the room.

Program the GPS because we can’t do it on the bikes or while we are moving.

Finally helmet , gloves, jacket, sunglasses, reading glasses and climb on the bike (Helli is now ready and waiting on me).

Kick stand up ready to go. OMG where are my keys!!!!! Can’t get them out of my pocket with my gloves on. Laugh so hard can’t even tell Helli what I have done. Gloves off kick stand down so I don’t drop the bike. Finally let’s go. WE NEED GAS. Unfreekinbelievable.

Still I can’t wait to do it all again tomorrow.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Salt Lake City, Utah - Mormon Tabernacle ChoirSalt Lake City, Utah - Mormon Tabernacle Choir
Salt Lake City, Utah - Mormon Tabernacle Choir

Rehearsal with guest performer Santino Fontana (Disney movie Frozen) - Wow what a voice


Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb