On the road again


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Salt Lake City
July 26th 2008
Published: July 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Cruise control is greatCruise control is greatCruise control is great

now where did that chubby guy get to.
Escaping from Reno with my bundles of newly won loot I carried on east on I80 with only a mere 800+km ahead of me to get to Salt Lake city.
I love cruise control.
Which also highlights how some people seem to hate being overtaken.
I had a classic example of this today with a chubby middle aged guy in an ordinary sedan with an ordinary chubby wife and the chubby kids in the back seat.
Over the period of the morning and into the early afternoon I was cruising with the cruise control set at 80mph and during this time I had 3 times when I caught up to him and pull into the fast lane to pass only to have him speed up and pull away or to just end up sitting beside him doing the same speed.
On 4 other occasions I managed to pass him (without adjusting my speed) only to have him anywhere from minutes later up to about an hour later re pass me.
Guess he must just to have been feeling inadequate, or maybe he saw a McDonalds truck in the distance?
Otherwise not much to report on the trip the scenery was ok
Arriving at speed centralArriving at speed centralArriving at speed central

Could feel my arteries hardening as I got closer
the straights, some times painfully long, the longest I measured with the exception of a slight kink where the direction of the road changed by about 2 degrees was over 90km long before I got to anything that could be even jokingly be refered to as a corner.
Just after getting into Utah again I did a quick detour and checked out the Bonnyville salt flats and speedway, which are unsprisingly salty and flat.
And hot, according to my car the afternoon temperature was just hitting 40degrees C.
I resisted the temptation to take the rental car on them for a quick spin as I am dropping it off tomorrow and feel that if I arrived at the rental comapany with it slowly disolving under a layer of salt they may be a tad less than impressed.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Salt flatsSalt flats
Salt flats

just living up to their name
And moreAnd more
And more

only thing missing is the fish n chips


Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1137s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb