MOAB - it's truly the journey not the destination in the beginning of this story!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Moab
August 21st 2011
Published: August 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

Never one to not take on a challenge; when my company offered us an incentive to whomever sold the most and reached set targets by mid July would win a "Gavin-a-licious" 2 day trip to Moab, Utah, how could I not try?

So, needless to say; I was one of the winners; 19 of us in total from around the globe, along with 2 other of my Canadian Team members and WOW is all I can say for now!

Dee and I left LA after training with Andrea and Paul and had a lovely 06:00 departure on our flight via Denver. So yes, folks that means a 04:00AM wake up call. (insert swear words oh so effectively here). Dee and I stumbled our way to LAX at the lovely hour of 04:25; only to arrive to a hell of a check in, affectionately called "EasyCheckIn" by an airline that shall remain nameless (starts with "U"). Oh my word was what came to mind when I saw the minimum 1 hour line up cue for (check THIS OUT for efficiency??) 25 self-check in kiosks. Which sounds great in theory. Except said airline neglected to remember that they only have 3 check in people who MUST check your luggage after your handy oh so dandy self check in. Uh-huh. Really? That made oh so much sense........

You can only imagine the chaos that ensued; and it was organized in the least. 100+ people cursing and swearing and 3 very over stressed, angry confused staff looking like despite the economy anywhere would be better than here.... poor souls.

SO I managed to pull out my Dove (very difficult for me to say the least) and bump politely (see there IS a first) past about 75 people so Dee and I could check in quickly. Except for her checked bag. That was another experience that went on for, well, long enough for my Eagle to come out (along with othere various swear words). Alas off to security where I heard the words mumbled (04:00 shouldn't be attached to the word AM....) by some poor lost soul as groggy and confused as I. After my
"random' (I"m always randomly chosen every time I travel - must be my scary face) naked body scan, followed by another random pat down (seriously?) we made it to our gate.

Denver flight was uneventful. Denver airport terminal 7? Whole other story. Let me tell you. If you're eveyr looking for hell in an American airport I know where to send you. Terminal 7, Denver International Airport.

Where they have 7 gates in about a 26 sq.ft. space and 4 gate agents with multiple flights leaving each gate with a muffled microphone that only reaches; well, the gate agent. Chaos was an understatment. AFter a long painful 2 hours of confusion, lostness, missing flight; missing aircraft, gate agent almost quitting we finally boarded our plane. To sit for another 1/2 hour due tot the fact that the Denver airport couldn't find a wheelchair to get one of our co-passengers to the plane. Seriously? WTF has been going on during the extra 1.5 hours we waited for our delayed flight. Sigh.

Excuse me, stewardess? Can I please have a vodka????

Made it to Moab, luggage made it and out we went screaming of the airport to our 1.5 hour shuttle ride to Moab.

Now at the most amazing resort called the Sorrel River Ranch. I have found heavan.....

Off to my Hummer Ride (think what you will you dirty birds) more later........

Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1015.7kb