Near Robbers Roost Canyon


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Moab
November 11th 2006
Published: November 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sunday, November 11, 2006

I looked at the map last night to figure out the latitude/longitude of where we are camped right now, and I think we are at LAT 38°18'45" and LONG 110°24'45". I may be off a bit because the map doesn't give much detail on LAT/LONG. We are camped atop a sandstone shelf overlooking a side drainage/canyon that flows into No Mans Canyon, which is South of the South Fork of Robbers Roost Canyon. We are within about 5 miles of where that guy Aron Ralston had to cut his own arm off when a boulder fell on it. We are in the same type of terrain and it is easy to see how that could happen.

These canyons are the same that Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid used to hide out in after rustling cattle and robbing banks, which is pretty neat I think. It is easy to see why they chose this place; it is very confusing to navigate, even with modern topographic maps.

Yesterday we went on a hike to find a watering hole and on the way we found metal cigarette cases from 1907.

We are meeting up with our re-supply today, and that is how I am able to mail you this from the field. After re-supply, we have a two-night solo that I am really looking forward to. We will hike a bit and then each of us will be dropped off in our own secluded place. Solitude is greatly appreciated when you have been eating, breathing, and sleeping with the same people for 40 plus days. We also have the option to fast during this time, which I think I will try, but don't worry; I will have food if I want it along with shelter and plenty of water.

The weather has been ideal until a couple days ago when a cold front brought in wind and light rain. Before that, I was sleeping under stars, shooting stars, and satellites. We had a full moon for a few nights, and it is down to half now. We have also had some pretty cool campsites on the sides of cliffs with amazing views, waking up to brilliant sunrises, all of this you will see soon if we can work this mail in time. (note - there were no pictures with this letter). I hope you enjoyed the previous pictures and that you are happy and healthy. Say hello to everyone and I will call you in a week from Leadville. Love Drew.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1002.1kb