Day 29 - Heber City & Midway, Utah


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Heber City
October 10th 2011
Published: October 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today I was going to meet Rachel again. It would be my last day in Salt Lake City, and I had to return the car to the rental place by 2pm. So I got up early.

We arranged to meet at a coffee shop in Midway at 10:30am. Midway is just outside of Heber City.

This was another interesting part of the area. I still haven't seen that much of Salt Lake City, but I'm sure it would have nothing on either Park or Heber; both are beautiful places. Rachel showed me around Heber and Midway today, and firstly it was to a hot spring.

I've never seen a hot spring before, and I wished I was able to jump in. The water was quite warm. Sometimes it gets really hot, apparently. It was a nice little place. You can scuba dive down here too. That must look truly fascinating.

Then we headed to the foothills of the mountains, at a resort close to where they had the Winter Olympics in 2002. Very nice place up here, I enjoyed the atmosphere.

Rachel then showed me her school. First time I got to see an American school, and it looked pretty familiar. That's because I've seen schools in the movies. They look better than Australian schools, that's for sure. I honestly think Australian schools make you feel inferior. This school actually looked "cool", though, which I never thought was possible for a school. I felt good about being here. Part of me would like to have experienced American school life. I don't know how they do it; you can just instantly tell that a school is American by what it looks like. I guess it has that feel to it.

Anyway. Enough about school. I left school in 2007, there's no reason for me to stay here. I dropped Rachel off at her home and we said goodbye a final time. Shouldn't be final as in final, though; she's a great person and I really enjoyed meeting her. It is time for me to move along to the next destination; that would be Denver, Colorado.

Until my bus would depart at 8:45pm, I would sit in Starbucks, on the internet. Perhaps look around a bit. Yes, I'm that boring.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb