Dead Horse Point and Canyonlands


Advertisement
Published: October 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

fall colorfall colorfall color

Here's one I forgot to include with yesterday's post. Some of the Cottonwoods are still very colorful along creek and river banks.
Today I explored Dead Horse Point State Park and the northern part of Canyonlands NP. It was another full day and I’m pretty wiped out, but as my Dad would say - It’s a GOOD tired! Even though the places I went today are only 20 or so miles “as the crow flies”, it was about 45 miles from the end of the road at the Grand View Point Overlook back to town.

I planned to take in these two parks by early afternoon and make a quick drive through Arches on the way home. But those plans quickly went by the wayside when I didn’t leave Dead Horse Point until noon.

Since I’ll be having VERY long days with the photo workshop beginning Sunday afternoon, I plan on a leisurely relaxing day on Saturday.

I’ll quit rambling here and make a few detailed comments in the captions of the images I upload.

Thanks for checking in. It may be a few days before I post additional updates.



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Courthouse TowersCourthouse Towers
Courthouse Towers

I'm not positive on the name of this formation. It is right above the visitor's center at the entrance to Arches NP. As I drove past early this morning on my way to Dead Horse Point, the light was just beginning to hit the rocks. I did a 180 and parked on the side of US 191 and climbed up a hill to take a few shots. This is a prime example of why it's slow going on my journeys. Around every bend and curve there is another spectacular view.
unnamed archunnamed arch
unnamed arch

I saw this arch soon after I turned off US 191. I was down in a canyon when I took this. When you see the next image you'll get a clearer idea of the bigger picture.
A higher viewA higher view
A higher view

I was totally blown away when I drove less than a mile from where I took the previous image (unnamed arch). The road made a 180 turn as it started up one side of the canyon I had been in. I had NO IDEA there were those huge formations above where I was seeing the arch. In this photo, the arch (you can't see through it) is the rock outcrop in the lower right side.
Dead Horse Point OverlookDead Horse Point Overlook
Dead Horse Point Overlook

Here is a view of the Colorado River from the end of the road in Dead Horse Point State Park. Notice the guy sitting on a rock on the right side of the photo. It gives you a sense of the vastness and grandeur of this area.
Colorado RiverColorado River
Colorado River

Here's a close up of the river from the overlook. Yesterday I drove down along the Colorado River - not quite as far as this section, but I could see some of Dead Horse Point State Park from the valley.
Lunch ViewLunch View
Lunch View

Here's the view I had while sitting on a rock at the Grand View Point Overlook in the Island in The Sky section of Canyonlands NP to eat lunch today.
At the end of the Rim walkAt the end of the Rim walk
At the end of the Rim walk

From the Grand View Point Overlook, there was a one mile walk to the end of the mesa. It was quite a spectacular sight and also tiring. It wasn't a particularly strenuous hike as far as elevation changes go, but it was at 6080 feet! The couple sitting on the rock again gives you a sense of perspective.
Road in CanyonlandsRoad in Canyonlands
Road in Canyonlands

There were several sections of highway in Canyonlands that were a blast to drive. I had to use the 'slap stick' option in my rental car and pretend I was driving a manual transmission. I can't help but wonder if we haven't seen car commercials that were filmed on this road. This area has been used for many movies and advertisements (both TV and print) over the years.
Pinion TreePinion Tree
Pinion Tree

There are lots of interesting trees along the trails.
IR Pinion TreeIR Pinion Tree
IR Pinion Tree

I played around with my IR camera body today. I liked the results of the Pinion Tree.


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb