From Snow to Blossoms


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Cedar City
March 27th 2016
Published: March 27th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Well all you cats... I started the day by saddling up the pony to ride. Ooops! Not true, but now that I have your attention, we started the day with a wholesome breakfast at the Driftwood Inn after getting up at 6:00 am. Susan, the chef, prepared scrambled eggs as per our request. Then we went for a walk down by the falls again, in the brisk morning air. I call -7C or (20 F) brisk. We were back on the road by 7:45 am and witnessed beautiful frost on the trees and shrubs until the sun finally burned it off. If you are ever on I-15 between Idaho Falls and Pocatello Idaho, the Lava Formations rest stop is well worth the stop. Millions of years ago large areas of the Southwest USA was rocked by huge vocanic eruptions. This rest stop gives you great information on this particular geological activity. Stop, stretch, and enjoy. We crossed into Utah at 9:40 am and literally flew through Salt Lake City by 11:00. SLC has intimidated me in the past, but the traffic was relatively light today and I stayed on cruise control at 74 Mph (121kmph) the entire 100km (60 miles) of greater SLC. I fueled up in Nephi and had left over pizza for our lunch. With the truck fueled up we headed south, but I petered out of energy about 45 minutes before reaching Cedar City Utah. I pulled over at a rest stop and had a 30 minute cat nap. We finally arrived at the Ramada Inn in Cedar City. What a joy to see tree blossoms, after seeing snow for the past 6 months right through until today at higher elevations. Several mountain passes were at 6600 foot above sea level and had slush on the roads. Tonight we went to Applebee's Family Restaurant and we both had a delicious meal. Jan had steak with baked potato, and vegetables, I had BBQ'd ribs and fries. We enjoyed a great salad also. One would think that all we do is eat, drive and sleep. The truth be known, that is a fairly accurate assumption. We took a photo of a lighthouse in town. Don't ask me what the meaning is for a lighthouse in the mountains and semi arid plains of Utah. I haven't a clue. I drove 750km (455 miles) today.

Tomorrow we will arrive at our tiny adobe in Dolan Springs Arizona. Just a reminder, we are off grid there and run a generator for electricity. It also means that my blogs will not be as prompt nor as regular once we get there.

HAPPY EASTER to all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0683s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb