Bryce Canyon NP II


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Bryce Canyon
May 18th 2009
Published: July 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Thank you weather for continuing to behave, so we had an opportunity to enjoy a nice hiking day today. I couldn't wait to get down to the bottom of the canyon and stand among the strange-looking hoodoos. Reading from hiking trails descriptions, Queen's Garden and Navajo trail combo seemed to be the most interesting trails. Starting at Sunset Point where a panoramic view of Bryce can be appreciated, we gradually descended into the canyon. The trail was rocky and gravelly and varied in coloration in different areas. As the sun became stronger and stronger, many hikers found refuge in the shades of the trees that appeared as if someone had thoughtfully placed them in just the right spots. Just when I felt that it was getting hot, I was about to approach another tree. We walked passed big hoodoos, small hoodoos, tall hoodoos, and the short ones. Some of them have names, but I didn't keep track of them. I, however, assigned names to some of them like the one you see in this entry in which the hoodoo looked like a sculpture of a bear and a mouse conversing with each other.

Queen's garden trail winded down into the canyon, certain parts were wide and others were narrow. At the end of the trail transitioning to Navajo trail, the trail became narrower with big limestone walls on both sides of the trail. This narrow trail led us through an even narrower path and slightly twisty up ahead. It took us up some steps before revealing considerably large hall where you feel like the world has opened up again. The limestone walls were cool to the touch making me want to stay here a little longer. Doug was up ahead waiting for me on a different rock chitchatting with his mistress(...you know who...). Little that I knew that in the next few steps, I would be even more amazed. After having spent enough time in a cool shade, I continued to hike further up. Once I got up to where Doug was waiting for me, a gigantic open hall was before my eyes. Steep and zigzag was the trail leading up to the top of the canyon. It literally looked like we were in an enormous hole that shrank us to the size of an ant. See if you can spot Doug in one of the pictures taken on this part of the trail. I couldn't help but looked back as I climbed up to higher elevation. This hole amazed me with its massive size. Wow!


Additional photos below
Photos: 28, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Fascinating dead treesFascinating dead trees
Fascinating dead trees

I took countless pictures of dead trees in the park. Their artistically twisty shapes empowers the beauty of the canyon.
What is your name?What is your name?
What is your name?

Some hoodoos do have names, but I don't know if these guys do.


Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0601s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb