Bryce Canyon-My Favorite Utah National Park


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Utah » Bryce Canyon
September 16th 2007
Published: October 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Bryce Canyon #10Bryce Canyon #10Bryce Canyon #10

View from Bryce Point.
This was my favorite of the National Parks I visited in Utah. I'm not counting the Grand Canyon because that's in a category all by itself. This is definitely a park that I want to come back and spend more time exploring in the future.

Bryce Canyon National Park is stunning. Who knew it was possible for nature to make such amazing and colorful features all on its own? The formations look like they are ready to fall over yet are made of stone. According to Utah.com: "Millions of years of wind, water and geologic mayhem have shaped and etched the pink cliffs at Bryce, which isn't actually a canyon but the eastern slope of the Paunsaguant Plateau...Bryce Canyon National Park is named after Ebenezer Bryce, an early rancher who described it as "a helluva place to lose a cow."" The Park was designated in 1928 and actually isn't a Canyon but a natural amphitheatre.

The Canyon is so pretty with its whites, beiges, pinks and reds surrounding by dark green trees. I spent several hours at Bryce and while I was there a nasty storm was passing through near the Canyon resulting in dark clouds in most of
Bryce Canyon #18Bryce Canyon #18Bryce Canyon #18

View from the Natural Bridge Overlook (elevation 8,627 feet)
my pictures. I got a little wet a couple of times when the storm passed near but no serious downpours. Luckily, lots of trees to hide under to wait out the rain. The pictures don't seem to do the Park justice.

Bryce Canyon has very similar features and colors to Cedar Breaks National Monument which I also enjoyed seeing on this trip although Cedar is on a much smaller scale. Bryce would be a wonderful place to view in the winter with the white snow adding to the vivid colors.

Bryce has a 37 mile loop drive with several overlooks. At the overlooks, you can also do some hikes up to additional observation areas or around the rim or down into the Canyon and the hoo doos (the natural formations Bryce is known for). Bryce also has some incredible naturally formed grottos which look like they had to have been carved out by humans but have not. It also has a very large natural bridge which is easily viewed at an observation point. There are also points to get the best views at Sunrise and Sunset (called Sunrise Point and Sunset Point). The observation areas are all above
Bryce Canyon #5Bryce Canyon #5Bryce Canyon #5

Storm in background.
8,000 feet. There are also some lodges located inside the Park which would be very cool to stay at someday. Talk about a view.

Next up...tomorrow at Capitol Reef National Park then vacation is over!




Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Bryce Canyon #3Bryce Canyon #3
Bryce Canyon #3

More of the storm in background.
Red Canyon #3Red Canyon #3
Red Canyon #3

One of the tunnels.
Bryce Canyon #9Bryce Canyon #9
Bryce Canyon #9

The sun's out! View from Bryce Point (elevation 8,300 feet).
Bryce Canyon #1Bryce Canyon #1
Bryce Canyon #1

Storm in background.
Bryce Canyon #6Bryce Canyon #6
Bryce Canyon #6

Storm in background.
Red Canyon #1Red Canyon #1
Red Canyon #1

Located as you drive to Bryce Canyon.
Bryce Canyon #16Bryce Canyon #16
Bryce Canyon #16

View from Inspiration Point with storm in background.
Bryce Canyon #8Bryce Canyon #8
Bryce Canyon #8

Sun breaking through the clouds a little.
Bryce Canyon #11Bryce Canyon #11
Bryce Canyon #11

Close Up of the Grottos which run along the upper part of the Canyon in many places.
Bryce Canyon #12Bryce Canyon #12
Bryce Canyon #12

View from Bryce Point.
Bryce Canyon #13Bryce Canyon #13
Bryce Canyon #13

View from Inspiration Point (elevation 8,100 feet)
Bryce Canyon #15Bryce Canyon #15
Bryce Canyon #15

Storm in background. Inspiration Point View.
Bryce Canyon #17Bryce Canyon #17
Bryce Canyon #17

View from the Natural Bridge Overlook.


8th October 2007

Wow!
Fantastic place, fantastic photos... We will be visiting there next week and your photos are very encouraging! thanks
8th October 2007

Thanks!
It was beautiful. You will definitely enjoy. Check out Cedar Breaks (see my blog) as well if you can...very similar to Bryce.
5th November 2007

Awesome pictures
Hey, thanks for the lovely message you left on my Grand Canyon blog! I've got to say though, I would love to see what you have seen out West. Especially your pictures here at Bryce. I've always wanted to come here and now it's definitely next on my list. I took some time and looked though some of your other blogs and I'm amazed at how you find the time to explore all these places. Enjoy your trip to Italy. Where are you going? I'm going to Rome in December so hopefully I'll be able to use some of your blogs as inspiration. Either way, I'll definitely be checking back! :)
6th November 2007

Response
Thanks!!!! I've been very fortunate to be able to see several places this year. Some years I'm not as fortunate. As far as Italy, I'll be in Rome, Florence and Venice. I've been to Venice before but not the other two and am very excited! That'd be cool if you checked my blog...I'm usually pretty good about blogging as long as I have the internet connection and would be happy to answer any questions you might have when I get back!

Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 21; qc: 102; dbt: 0.1395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb