From Fiery Furnace to Devil’s Garden plus a little inspiration


Advertisement
Published: November 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This morning, we’re in Arches National Park again for another sunrise shoot. After parking at Panorama Point overlook, we set up tripods in the cold and wait. Success! The clouds scattered throughout the sky reflect the sun’s rays rewarding us with colorful photographic opportunities.

Later, the group stops at the Fiery Furnace parking area to catch photos of the sun’s reflections on the sandstone formations. A permit is required to hike here and choosing a ranger-guided tour is smart since it’s easy to get lost in the labyrinth of canyons and fins.

By the time we reach Devil’s Garden campground, many of the campers are cooking breakfast. It’s hard photographing the backside of Skyline Arch while the aroma of bacon wafts through the air, reminding me that I haven’t had breakfast.

Next, we park at Devil’s Garden trailhead for the hike to Landscape Arch. The two-mile roundtrip walk provides plenty of scenery to record including the park’s longest arch at 306 ft.

On my hike through the area, I keep passing an elderly woman walking with a younger man (probably her son). She uses a cane but keeps a steady pace and makes it to Landscape Arch and back. We meet again in the parking lot where I introduce myself and complement her determination. She tells me that she’s 75-years-old and proudly explains about her two hip replacements. On a visit from Manchester, England, she’s determined to see and do all that she can. My kind of woman!

To read more about our photo workshop experience with Jim Altengarten, vist "Take a photo workshop in nature's beauty" at My Itchy Travel Feet .


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



9th November 2007

Sunrise
Loved the sunrise photo.
10th November 2007

Beautiful Sunrise!
Ohh....what beautiful sunrise pictures you have there! It's warmed me up already just looking at the colours of your stunning images, thanks for sharing them!
11th November 2007

photos
Hi. I am having problems with my pics. When I upload them they don't look as the originals. I need a little guidance. Your sunset shots are expectacular. I don't know what I am doing wrong and I have a great camera.

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb