Arches to Lonely Roads


Advertisement
Published: July 1st 2007
Edit Blog Post

By Kristen

Got into Arches early enough to hike around! Arches is magnificent. It is breathtaking, really. Spent some time hiking alone this morning and the wind never sounded so lovely; it comes over one rock formation down to the ground and up the other side. Arches is vast and textured and once you’re deep inside, quiet in a way I’ve never heard before. I could spend many months alone there. Desert solitaire, indeed.

We are currently driving through the last stretch of Utah and I can’t help but gasp as we come around almost each bend. The landscape is nothing short of stunning. On our way up to the “Loneliest Road in America” to drop Emily in Elko where she’ll spend a few days with Jeff and then fly back to Chicago. I’ll move on to camp just before Reno this afternoon. I’ll meet up with Alan on Tuesday to hike and camp somewhere near Tahoe. The wedding is Friday and then I’ll meet up with Shannon from California to hike on Saturday and Sunday. Sunday afternoon I’ll take off back east and will be traveling alone. I think I’ll take the high road back and hit Wyoming and may even talk myself into Grand Teton NP!

************************************************************************

In my dreams, bareback I ride
Over the pradera low and wide
As the wind sweeps out the draw
‘Cross the scrub desert floor

~Bruce Springsteen



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb