check point Harley


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
February 20th 2011
Published: February 21st 2011
Edit Blog Post

The room Sam and I stayed in had AC, The temp wasn't that bad but the humidity was really high making our night of rest not that good. I felt sticky enough I wanted to take a shower when I awoke. The alarm went off at 6:00 but I was up at 5:45. We were hoping to be on the road by 7:00 and everyone including Bob were ready to leave by 6:55. I guess there is a first time for everything. Today was really hilly we climbed a total of 2495 ft. We had a stop along the road and looked further down the road and there was massive hill with a big dip in the road. We also met a fellow biker, Chris, from Maine who started in Pesocola and was going to San Diego. After we started to ride again he started in front of me and I asked Sam if he talked with them and rode with them for a while. Sam said he blew past them like they were setting still. Bob has set yet another milestone. Today he had another flat tire. This brings the total flats for the group to 14. Bob has had half of these him self. Way to go Bob! There were several hundred motorcycles, I'm not streaching the truth, on the road today. I love bikes but the ones with pipes and not mufflers are too loud. We made it to Richards and stopped by the local ma & pa shop and got some items for supper and breakfast. I plan on making poor man sandwiches tomorrow, Bob is excited. We stayed at the Check Point Harley Lodging. The owners are Ernest and Doris, a real nice couple. Doris is from Germany and Bob & Mary had a blast talking with her. I cooked supper and we invited our host to join us and we talked and visited like we were long lost friends. Today the temp was 74'. All of started the morning with shorts on, including Bob. We rode a total of 47 miles.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0734s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb