Sept 13


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
September 13th 2009
Published: September 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today is a bitter sweet day. I neded to get on the road again, (sweet) and that met departing my girl Shelly's home (bitter)...

The time I spent with Shelly and her children was far better that I would have dared to hope. Shelly Swesey is a wonderful young woman who loves her children with no limits. She has come through the school of hard knocks and stands on her own two feet with her head held high. I have nothing but love and pride in my heart for her.

I would love to chat about her and my relationship with anyone who wishes, but this blog is about the journey... So on we go.,,

Leaving Bryan Texas I headed to Waco.. just cuze I like the name.. well storms crowded me around and I stopped to ponder... Can I make San Diego, meet Master Lucas Skywalker, and still be home when I want...??..

Plus the sky looked better to the west.. So I looped south west and ran down country and farm roads for the day. I ended up on Texas 290 going through Johnson City, home of LBJ, and traversing the hill part of Texas.

I was sure that at any moment the Duke would rise from the dead and ride into view. This county is what the movies depict of Texas and it is wonderful. Now where is my Zombie survival guide?

The rolling hills were treed and deep green as it has been raining... well about 6 times today on me.. but for a week here. The streams were flowing and the livestock seemed in bliss.

I popped on to highway 10 for a few miles and found the posted limit is 80!!!! Tonight I am resting warm and dry after a tub and shower in the nicest Motel 6 I have ever been in.. Dinner was at a roadside BBQ that was great!

Thanks for tagging along,
Chuck


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Texas sky..Texas sky..
Texas sky..

Isn't there suppose to be this big glowing thing?
Hummmm Hummmm
Hummmm

Mr. Bill is taking my picture.. He thinks I am lost...
Mr. Bill is sure he knows where we are...Mr. Bill is sure he knows where we are...
Mr. Bill is sure he knows where we are...

Actually we are in Harper Tx.. There is no PTA...


Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0607s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb