THE PLURAL OF GRIT


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
December 21st 2008
Published: December 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Grit can be defined as abrasive particles or granules, as of sand or other small, coarse impurities found in the air, food, water, etc. Grit is also a magazine. At its peak in 1969, Grit had a total circulation of 1.5 million copies every week. It is still published but I think circulation is down somewhat. True Grit is a John Wayne movie, but that is a whole different travel blog.

Grits, also called hominy grits, is coarsely ground hominy, boiled and sometimes then fried, eaten as a breakfast dish. Hominy is whole or ground hulled corn from which the bran and germ have been removed by bleaching the whole kernels in a lye bath. The process of turning corn into hominy is called nixtamalization. I didn’t really understand until I examined the flowchart very carefully. Now I get it.

There is a Hominy, Oklahoma. North Carolina has an Upper & Lower Hominy. Hominy grits are served in restaurants in the South. Even McDonalds serves them. I will be traveling to Georgia on Dec. 26th. I have decided to do some ‘on the road’ research and attempt to locate the “Hominy Belt”. Maybe it won’t be a belt. Maybe a glob. Maybe a blob shaped like a hominy kernel. I hereby declare this a pre travel blog. I will stop at restaurants along the way and check the menu for evidence of grits. McDonalds will be the only chain I will query. If I visit other establishments I may get off the subject and I hate that.


Advertisement



21st December 2008

You Didn't Answer the Title
There is also a book called "True Grits," not to be confused with the John Wayne movie, which lacks the "s" at the end of "Grit." This book asks a question similar to your blog title: What is the singular of "grits"? a. grits b. grit c. gris gris d. ain't nunna yer nevermind The answer is "d." By the by, I am a lifelong grits eater, and always will be. I eat them the proper Southern way, with half a stick of butter and a pound of salt. No whimpy yankee syrup belongs near grits. Now you know.
22nd December 2008

"True Grits"
"True Grits" is a very rare book. I would think that anyone that could produce a copy in short order would have to be an exceptional character, if you know what I mean, and I think you do. Holidayroad.
16th March 2009

The answer
The plural of Grit is either: a. gris gris or b. ain't none of yore nevermind!

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0299s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb