Uncle Brother Doug and the Queen of England!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas
March 7th 2008
Published: March 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Or… Smell My Jumper.

Another day off… And it rained. No, it poured. No, it was torrential downpour. I’m surprised the streets didn’t wash away. But I was inside most of the time; Kyle and I worked for a while and had all of our Macs (4) set up on the table and run all over. I got some soldering done as well.

Uncle Brother Doug is our host, and he’s an amazing man of faith. He and I stopped and chatted a bit about his story. He has such a vision for this small town and knows how to do Church. Every Sunday, he even gets up and makes breakfast for his entire congregation. He has hosted the choir every year since like 24, so he’s well experienced in having us around. When we’re here, he bends over backwards for us! One of our African aunties needed her wisdom teeth out, and he put in some phone calls and had at least 4 surgeons offer to do it for free. I had to get some shots and he made a lot of calls to make it happen. Then he arranged for us to have a car to take into town. Wow. So my immunization record is now starting to look like a passport.

Dinner. There’s a man here named Keith who started a pool ministry a few years ago and invited us out to play. Good times. I started out shooting nothing, then I won 4 games in a row! Nine ball is becoming quite the exciting pastime for me. Although it was quite smoky, once again.

When we got back, Kyle led us in some sweet time of worship. It’s kind of odd how much my soul missed it and how I didn’t realize quite how much. As we were singing, Kyle, Sarah, Beth, Sharye and I, I was thinking- we’re singing some of the same songs, but often times differently, yet we’re all worshipping the same God. From all over the world. Just a guitar and some friends. It truly was a great time, although it made me really miss our team and our band and worshipping with family.

In case you were wondering, one of the choirs is singing for the Queen of England next week. So, we have Uncle Brother Doug and the Queen in the same week!

Advertisement



7th March 2008

Big Laugh!
Last night I was listening to the news and heard that Dallas had a very unexpected snow storm of two to three inches and I laughed out loud. I wonder if people know that it is your fault!?!?!? All that talk of shorts in winter time just not being right and it just not seeming like March weather....hahahaha! Love ya, Mom

Tot: 0.346s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 17; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1467s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb