Gruene, TX


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » San Antonio
August 19th 2007
Published: August 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday Jeremy, Nicole, Austin and I went off to Gruene, TX, a small town founded in the 1840's. First we walked down to the river to see the flooding water. The street was blocked and there were people rafting. After checking out some good Texas iron decor, it was off to Gruene Hall, home of Texas' Oldest Dace Hall. Gruene Hall Website. There is a huge dance floor and live bands playing country music on a daily basis. There was a big open dance floor and a large field outside with tables. The place was fun! I definitely would go back some night with my boots and hat on to get drunk and dance. But instead of changing into a cowboy suit, we went off to Gristmill River Restaurant and Bar. We sat outside and it was a hot day but it was a real nice view and the food was great. I love being in Texas but I am not sure I could handle the heat all year round. I guess I would get used to it though. After that we came back to the house and went swimming in the pool. For a kid who isn't even 1 yet, Austin has a tremendous amount of energy! He went right into the pool and floated around. He didn't even mind when he splashed water near his face. Later on we just watched some Survivorman on Discovery channel (a show now that I will be addicted to when I get home). Heading to Vegas today. Not sure what that will bring. Perhaps their won't be a blog entry for a while since you know "What happens in Vegas, stays in Vegas!" Then again, if something really good happens, why hide a great story??

Oh yeah, and my plans for Seattle have changed. Long story but I changed my flights and will be returning a day earlier than expected.

Also, I added more Pictures of yesterday to the Atlanta/Texas album.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0263s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb